AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "Microform Publications" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Microform Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Microform Publications in ASU Libraries

The following microform publications are available in several places throughout the Hayden and Law Library: Hayden Reference; Hayden Microforms; Law Microforms; and the Arizona and Labriola Collections.

American Indian Periodicals on Microform from the Princeton University Library. This collection is one of the most important collections of periodicals in the world produced by Indians. It includes newsletters, church and school bulletins and political broadsides, and covers almost every topic. (Part I) E75.A6x FICHE Labriola; (Part II) E75.A7x FICHE Labriola; Periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981, 7 reels. Microfilm 9775 Labriola; Periodicals by and about American Indians, 1923-1981, 82 reels. Microfilm E75.P4x; Guide E75.P4x Labriola Stacks.

The Native American and the New Deal: The Office Files of John Collier, 1933-1945 - Robert Lester
Call Number: FILM 9665
Franklin Roosevelt appointed Collier Commissioner of Indian Affairs. Students will find a number of research topics among these papers such as Native American education; Indian Personality Study publications; Native American opposition to Collier's programs; Native American political action groups in New Deal years; Indians of California, Inc. and the law; or the Navajo during Collier's administration.
18 reels.
( Also E93 .L47x 1994 REF )


The Native American, Devoted to Indian Education - Phoenix Indian School
Call Number: E75 .A6x FICHE
Volumes 1-31 January 13, 1900-June 6, 1931) Phoenix, Arizona. Similar to the Red Man in content, The Native American was published by the pupils of the U.S. Indian Training School in Phoenix, Arizona. During its early years, it concentrated upon educational articles more than did the Red Man, but as time progressed, The Native American broadened its subject matter to include articles on many aspects of Indian life and history. Volumes 2-31 in the Arizona Collection.
(Also E97.P54 FILM Labriola )

North American Indians: Photographs from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution - Herman Viola
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 3015
52 sheets
Selected from the National Archives are a visual record of American Indians between 1860 and 1930.
(Located in Hayden Microforms)

Papers of Carlos Montezuma, 1892-1937 - Carlos Montezuma
Call Number: FILM 9616 r. 1-10
Son of Yavapai Indians, Montezuma was captured by Pima Indians and sold to Carlos Gentile, who educated him. He became a physician and Indian Rights activist. Montezuma founded a journal, Wassaja, to address the issues. Microfilm copy of collection in the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.
10 Reels
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)
Also E99 .Y5 P37x 1975 Guide - Hayden Arizona

Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D.: Including the Papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the Papers of Joseph W. Latimer - Carlos Montezuma
Call Number: FILM 8500
9 Reels
(Located in Hayden Microforms)
Also Paper guide available: E99.Y5 M65x LAB

http://library.lib.asu.edu/record=b4848836~S3 - Carlos Montezuma
Call Number: E99 .Y5 P38 2004 GUIDE
A guide to the supplement can be found in the Arizona Collection.
(Also 9954 Hayden Arizona - 9 reels)

Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906-1946 - John Larner
Call Number: FILM 9653 r. 1-10
These contain a record of the organization, personalities, and accomplishments of the nation' first modern Pan-Indian reform group. 10 reels
( Also, Paper guide available E77.S6 L3 LAB)

Pepper, George Hubbard (1873-1924) Papers - George Hubbard Pepper
Call Number: E54 .P47 2000
The emphasis of the collection is upon the Navajo, Hopi, and Zuni Indians, their customs, language, textiles, pottery, religion and way of living. Includes numerous photographs, correspondence, articles, lecture notes. It contains in-depth data on Navajo blankets and insight into the early anthropological and archaeological work with Indians of the Southwest. Original documents are in Tulane University.
(Also E54 .P47 2000 GUIDE - LAB)

Periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981 - State Historical Society of Wisconsin
Call Number: FILM 9775
This group of American Indians publications, aimed at urban and rural residents, includes community newspapers in native languages, mission and church newspapers and periodicals.
13 reels

The papers of John Peabody Harrington in the Smithsonian Institution, 1907-1957 - John Peabody Harrington
Call Number: E54 .H37 1981 v. 1-9 GUIDE
A guide to field notes: Native American history, language, and culture of Alaska/ Northwest Coast, guide to notes and writings on special lingusitics studies, guide to correspondence.

Papers of John Peabody Harrington in the Smithsonian Institution, 1907-1957 - John Peabody Harrington
Call Number: FILM 7652
"Prepared in the National Anthropological Archives, Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History, Washington, D.C."
pt. 1. A guide to the field notes: Native American history, language, and culture of Alaska/Northwest Coast. 30 reels. -- pt. 2. Northern and Central California. 200 reels.


Periodicals by and about North American Indians, 1923-1981 - Congressional Information Service
Call Number: E75 .P4x FILM r. 1-82
The collection explores the historical traditions and current lifestyles of North American Indians. It covers a wide range of topics including arts and crafts, poetry, spiritual guidance, traditional dancing. Included are both Canadian and Eskimo publications.
E75.P4x FILM Supplemental


Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Osage Indian Agency - Kent Carter
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 10436
At head of title: General Services Administration, National Archives and Records Service, Region 7.
"This inventory has been produced in this form ... primarily for internal use. It has not been distributed as a National Archives publication."

Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869 - US Government
Call Number: FILM 3748 R11 M668
The publication reproduces ratified treaties with related papers; eight unperfected treaties, a chronological list of the treaties, and indexes by place and by tribe.
16 reels


Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs: Central Classified Files, 1907-1939 - Robert Lester
Call Number: FILM 9730 Part B & C:1-2
Series B, Indian Customs and Social Relations. These materials provide insight into the federal government's effort to "Americanize" or "civilize" Native Americans.
23 reels.
(Also Guide E93 .G873 1995 GUIDE REF)


The Red Man: An Illustrated Magazine Printed by Indians, 1909-1917 - Carlisle Indian School
Call Number: E97.6 .C2 R3 FILM
Published by the U.S. Indian School in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, the magazine features articles on Indian education; activities in the various Indian schools across the nation; and Indian life, history, and crafts.
2 reels.
E97.6C2R3 FILM

Report Books of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1835-1885 - Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M348 r. 1-53
The books contain manuscript copies of communications sent by the office to members of the President's cabinet having supervisory responsibility for Indian affairs. There are also copies of letters sent to the President and members of Congress.
53 reels

Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes - Commission to the Five Civilized Tribes
Call Number: FILM 9973 r. 1-3
This collection includes the annual and special reports by the commissioner, covering the years 1893 to 1920. Some of the key congressional hearings concerning the Five Civilized Tribes have been appended to the reports. The reports and hearings form an indispensable source of information about the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, Seminole, and Cherokee tribes.
3 reels
(Also E93 . U66732x GUIDE)

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 - Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M1070 r. 1-60
Numerous topics are covered in these reports, including the health, receipt of rations, removal and treatment, Indian courts, conditions of dormitories, water supply, day schools, and more.
60 reels

Special Files of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1807-1904 - Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M574 r. 1-85
The records here relate to claims and investigations submitted in conformance with provisions of treaties between Indian tribes and the United States.
85 reels

Superintendents' Annual Narrative and Statistical Reports from Field Jurisdictions of the Bureau of Indian Affairs 1907-1938 - Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M1011
The reports document the operations and accomplishments of the agencies, schools, hospitals, and other field jurisdictions throughout the U. S. They relate to law and order, health, land ownership, population, industries, forestry allotments, land sales, and other subjects.
174 reels
(Also Pamphlet describing - E98 .P76 U9 1977 )

Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States: hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Indian Affairs, United States Senate, Seventieth Congress, second session, pursuant to S. Res. 79 : a resolution directing the Committee on Indian - US Congress & Senate, and Committee on Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 9976 r. 1-8
The West Journals Collection is accompanied by: A guide to Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes and Survey of Indian Reservation.
(Also West Journals - E93 .U6673 1929b FILM )

Survey of Indian reservations - South Dakota - Emergency Relief Administration
Call Number: FILM 9977 r. 1-3
Documentary records of in-person surveys of Indian families, focusing on their public welfare status.
(Also West Journals - E78 .S63 S87x 1975 FILM r. 1-3 )

Territorial Papers of the United States Senate, 1789-1873 - US Congress & Senate
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG46 M200 r. 1-20
(Located in Hayden Arizona)
Contents of entire set included in introductory notes on each reel.
(Also Pamphlet describing - E173 .T377 1973 )

U.S. Indian Claims Commission: The Library of American Indian Affairs - Norman Ross
Call Number: KF8208 .A55 R4 FICHE CABINET 13
(Located in Law Microform )
In existence since 1946, this agency hears and decides claims made against the U. S. government over lands ceded by the Indians in treaties. The microfiche contains 400,000 pages of historical, anthropological, and economic reports on the American Indian.

University of South Dakota Indian Oral History Collection - American Indian Research Project
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 3004
A collection of taped interviews with the Plains Indians and those non-Indians working actively with them; house in the Library of the University of South Dakota, Vermillion.
(Also E78 .G73 A525 2002 GUIDE )

The Washington Matthews Papers 1843-1905 - Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian
Call Number: FILM 8990
(Located in Hayden Microforms)
Consists of material on the history and culture of the Navajo and Hidatsa Indians.
10 Reels.
(Also in LABRIOLA - E76.45.M37 W47x GUIDE )

American Indian Constitutions, Laws and Treaties - State Historical Society of Wisconsin
Call Number: FILM 8533
Gives full text of documents. 2 Reels.
(Located in Hyden Microforms)

American Indian Oral History Collection - UNM Center for Southwest Research
Call Number: FILM 9642
Contains transcripts of oral histories held at the University of New Mexico in conjunction with the Center for Southwest Research, University of New Mexico. Six reels contain interviews with members of the Navajo Nation, while five reels contain interviews of individuals from the Pueblo tribes. Ask for printed index.
(reels 1-11)

American Indian Correspondence: The Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 - Presbyterian Historical Society
Call Number: FILM 7793
(35 reels)
Missionaries reports from the field describing Indian cultures; tribal factionalism; relations with the US Government; Indian education; and Indian woman. Letters reveal attitudes toward Indian people.

American Indian Index, 1953-1968
Call Number: E51 .A564x
This is an index to articles on American Indians in periodicals. Volumes 1-139, 141-148 (1953-1968). See also National Congress of American Indians.
(E51 .A564x FICHE Hayden Reference)

American Indian oral history: the Duke Collection - U of OK American Indian Institute
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 20490
Contains transcripts of oral histories regarding the social life and customs of Indians of Oklahoma. Program carried out with the assistance of Western History Collection, University of Oklahoma.

Bureau of Indian Affairs Records Created by the Santa Fe Indian School, 1890-1918 - Santa Fe Indian School
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M1473
Opened in 1890, the Santa Fe School provided industrial training for children from Indian reservations in Arizona and New Mexico. The school provided industrial training for children from Cochiti, Jemez, Nambe, Picuris, Pojoaque, San Ildefonso, San Juan, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, and Zia. There were also some Navajo, Apache, and Pima students. 38 reels.

Chilocco Indian School - Jeanette White Ford
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 10437
Preliminary inventory of the school.

Cherokee phoenix - New Echota
Call Number: E99 .C5 C56 FILM
Here is one of the earliest American Indian Newspapers, which was first published on February 21, 1828, Elias Boudinot, editor. The paper is published in English and Cherokee, using Sequoya's syllabary. It emphasized laws, manners and customs of the Cherokee, news of the day and miscellaneous articles promoting literature, civilization, and religion. There is much material on removal. Online index at http://anpa.ualr.edu (American Native Press Archives, Universiy of Arkansas, Little Rock)
3 reels

The Constitution and Laws of the American Indians - Lester Hargrett
Call Number: FILM 6864
Contains 157 printed constitutions, statues, session acts and resolutions passed by Indian tribes and nations. The collection is based on a bibliography of the constitutions and laws of the American Indians.
(7 Reels)
Also Book located KF8220 .A1 H3 1976 Labriola

Council Meetings of the Major American Indian Tribes, 1907-1971
Call Number: FILM 8257
Part I, Section 1 (1914-1956): Navajo; Five Civilized Tribes; Ute; Pueblo; Cheyenne; and Arapaho; Section 2 (1911-1956): Sioux, Chippewa, and Klamath. Part II, Section 1 (1957-1971): Navajo, Five Civilized Tribes, Ute, Pueblo, Cheyenne, and Arapaho; Section 2 (1957-1971): Sioux, Chippewa, and Klamath. Contains the official minutes of Indian council meetings and covers topics of importance to the tribes including claims, mineral rights, tribal funds, water supply and irrigation, proposed federal legislation, hunting and fishing rights, disputes, employment, and health and education.
52 Reels.
(Located in Hayden Microforms)
Also Guide in Hayden Reference E76.G7x and Hayden Microforms Ref E76.M35x v.1

Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties With Various Indian Tribes, 1801-1869 - U.S. Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 T494 r. 1-10
Here are journals of treaty commissioners, proceedings of councils, reports, and other records relating to the negotiation of Indian treaties ratified by the U. S. Senate. 10 Reels.

Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 - U.S. National Archives
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M595
Reel 15: Camp McDowell; Camp Verde (Apache-Mohave); Campo (Mission Indians); Canton Asylum. ; Reel 46: Colorado River (Mohave, Chemehuevi, and Walapai Indians).
(Located in Hayden Arizona History Collection )

Indian Pioneer History Collection - Grant Foreman
Call Number: FILM 9958 r. 1-40
In 1936, the Oklahoma Historical Society teamed with the history department at the University of Oklahoma to get a Works Progress Administration (WPA) writers' project grant for an interview program. The project employed more than 100 writers scattered across the state, with headquarters in Muskogee, where Grant Foreman served as project director. Asked to "call upon early settlers and (record) the story of the migration to Oklahoma and their early life here," the writers conducted more than 11,000 interviews, edited the accounts into written form, and sent them to the project director who completed the editorial process and had them typed into more than 45,000 pages. 40 reels.

Indian Rights Association, 1885-1901 - Indian Rights Association
Call Number: FILM 9654 r. 1-26
The oldest Association formed to secure for Native Americans their guaranteed political and civil rights. The collection includes records of activities, letters from government offices and officials. 26 reels.
See book length study by William T. Hagan, E93 .H224 Labriola Center
Also LAW MICROFORM E93 .I418 1974 CABINET 24 & Guide

Indian Wars of the West and Frontier Army Life, 1862-1898 - Robert Lester
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 16427
The collection enables scholars to research a wide range of topics: the role of Manifest Destiny on the western frontier; influence of frontier service on U.S. military organization; conventional army tactics vs. Indian guerrilla warfare; the reservation system; causes and effects of Indian uprisings during the Civil War; the army as frontier police force; frontier life; frontier soldiers' view of Indians; and more. (Guide E81.I64x 1996)

The Indian's Friend - Women's National Indian Association
Call Number: E75 .A6x FICHE v.1-63
Vols 1-52 (March 1888-November 1940), Philadelphia. This was the organ of the Women's National Indian Association (WNIS), organized in 1879 to seek basic changes in U.S. Indian policies. The WNIA (its name changed to National Indian Association in 1902) was one of the most active and influential of the Indian rights organizations and is given credit for lobbying major legislation on Indian education, citizenship, and civil rights through the U.S. Congress. The Association's efforts and support played an important role in the passage of the Dawes Severalty Act of 1887.
(Also E75.I57x FILM )

Indians of North America - Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and Histroy
Call Number: FILM 8698 r. 1-2
A collection of works selected from the Schomburg Collection of the New York Public Library. The scope of the collection is very broad, including translations of 16th century Spanish books, U. S. government reports, and mid-twentieth century books. ASU online catalog lists contents.
2 Reels

Interior Department Appointment Papers, Arizona Territory, 1857-1907 - US Dept of Interior - National Archives
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG48 M576 r. 1-10
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)
Calendars, Interior Department appointment papers, which are composed of class papers submitted by students in partial fulfillment of the requirements for History 401, Arizona State University. Two volumes.
(CD3035.A533x Arizona Collection Reference )

John Collier Papers, 1922-1968 - John Collier
Call Number: E93 .C7 J63 1980 CABINET 24
(Located in LAW MICROFORMS)
The microfilm and guide to the John Collier Papers, original papers held in Yale University Library. John Collier was the commissioner of Bureau of Indian Affairs from 1933-1945.
59 reels.
(Law Microforms E93 .C7 J63 1980 GUIDE Cabinet 24 )

Journal of American Indian Education - ASU Bureau of Education Research and Services
Call Number: E97 .J6 FILM
This is a refereed journal which publishes papers directly related to the education of North American Indians and Alaska Natives, with an emphasis on basic and applied research. Microfilm volumes 1-11, 13, 15, 19-23, 1961-1976, 1979-1984.
(E75 .P4x FILM LAB)

Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881 - US Office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M234
The series contains incoming correspondence from all sources concerning Indian lands, emigration, treaty negotiations, subsistence, annuity payments, conflicts, depredations, claims, traders and licenses, population, education, progress in agriculture, health, employees, buildings, supplies, accounts, and other administrative matters.
65 reels.
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)

Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior - US Dept of Interior
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG48 M606
Reproduces handwritten transcripts of communications. ASU holds one reel containing miscellaneous material between May 31, 1878-December 5, 1879.
1 reel.
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)

Letters Sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881 - US office of Indian Affairs
Call Number: FILM 3748 RG75 M21
The series consists of handwritten copies of the general outgoing correspondence of the Office of Indian Affairs. Included are instructions to superintendents, agents, and other employees. 166 reels.

Listening to Indians
Call Number: LAB FICHE 43-111 and 113-183
A collection of Native American oral histories.

Miami Indian Agency - Jeanette White Ford
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 10438

National Congress of American Indians (NCAI). - NCAI
Call Number: E75 .P4x FILM
Also called, Sentinel. A list of titles with dates and numbers of the microfiche. Some go back to the mid-19th century with none later than 1980.

GSA National Archives and Records Service Region 7; Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Shawnee Agency - Jeanette White Ford
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 10439
"This inventory has been produced in this form ... primarily for internal use. It has not been distributed as a National Archives publication."



Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip