AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "American Indian Languages" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

American Indian Languages Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Catalog Search


Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:



Article Databases

  • Bibliography of Native North Americans
    This bibliography contains thousands of citations to journal articles, essays, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. Government documents related to Native North American history, culture, language, and life.

    Z1209 .B535 Online
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).  
      
    The ERIC database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals.
  • LLBA (Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts)
    Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of articles from approximately two thousand serials, coverage of recent books, and dissertation listings related to linguistics and language.
 

Bibles and Hymnals

The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with Native American languages which is available in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries. It is not comprehensive, but rather a selective list of resources useful for developing language and vocabulary skills, and/or researching a variety of topics dealing with Native North American languages. Additional material may be found using the ASU Online Catalog and the Arizona Southwest Index. 

 

 

Bibliographies

Alaska Native Languages : A Bibliographical Catalogue - Michael Krauss & Mary Jane McGary
Call Number: PM501 .A4 K7x v.1
This catalog contains annotated bibliographic citations of works in or on Alaska Native languages such as Tsimshian, Haida, Comparative Athabaskan, Tliingit, Eyak, Ahtna, Tanaina, Ingalik, Holikachuk, Koyukon, Upper Kuskokwim, Tanana, Tanacross, Upper Tanana, Han and Kutchin.

Analytical Bibliography of Navajo Reading Materials - Bernard Spolsky, Agnes Holm & Penny Murphy
Call Number: E99 .N3 S68x 1975
Designed as a tool for curriculum developers in the area of Navajo language arts, this volume contains both Navajo and English language materials.


Bibliography of Educational Publications for Alaska Native Languages - Mary Jane McGary
Call Number: PM501 .A4 M34x 1979
Organized by individual tribe, this annotated bibliography of educational publications includes general and reference sources, as well as language and reading materials.

Proof-Sheets of a Bibliography of the Languages of the North American Indians - James Constantine Pilling
Call Number: PM108 .P56x
Pilling�s work lists thousands of language and linguistics books published around the world. It is organized alphabetically by individuals and organizations who wrote about or translated American Indian languages.

 

Bilingual Education and Curriculum

The Center has an extensive collection of curriculum and beginning level reading materials, as well as materials on developing classroom language curriculum and classroom language activities. Much of the Center's education and curriculum material can be found through a search in the Arizona Indian Index. To locate call numbers search the Index using such key word combinations as "Indians of North America" and "Bilingual Education," "Teachers and Teaching," "Curriculum," "Education Programs," or simply "Education." For example, to search the ASU Libraries Online Catalog and the Arizona Indian Index for information regarding

Native American curriculum, use key words as follows:

 

INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA CURRICULUM

 

To search for information regarding education for a specific group of people, use the name of the language and "curriculum" as follows:

 

NAVAJO CURRICULUM

 

A sample of our bilingual education and curriculum material follows:

American Indian Language Development Institute Curriculum Guide - Suzanne L. Weryackwe
Call Number: PM205 .A54x v.2
This guide provides discussion of philosophy and rationale, as well as curriculum development processes. It includes a model for the Institute, a bilingual curriculum lesson plan, and formats for a language and cultural unit plan, with sections on Hualapai, Havasupai, Papago, Pima, Ute, and Shoshone languages.

Bilingual Education for Navajo Children: The Rough Rock Experience, N.D. - Paul Rosier
Call Number: LAB EPH EB-49
Contains the results of a study on the effect of Bilingual Navajo/ English Education on the Children at Rock Point School in Chinle, Arizona

Choctaw (Chahta): History, Culture and Language Curriculum Book - Bill Porter
Call Number: PM871 .P67x
This volume contains units on Choctaw people and language, including activities, worksheets, quizzes, and tests-all with answer keys.

Annual Indian Curriculum Sharing Faire: Presented by the Greater Sacramento Valley Educators - Varied Authors
Call Number: LAB EPH EC-216
American Indian curriculum packet, compiled by the Southwest Resource and Evaluation Center, containing units on Miwok culture, Maidu legends, Native American music, food and more.

little Herder Series - Ann Nolan Clark
Call Number: PE1130 .I6 C517x 1988
Classic series of Navajo beginning level readers with text in English and Navajo. Search by Series name in the ASU Libraries Catalog database on the Online Catalog.

Menominee Language Manual: Resource Materials and Training Exercises - Irene Mack
Call Number: PM1761 .M46x
A compilation of extensive reference and curriculum materials for Menominee language skills.

Oneida Language Manual: Resource Materials and Training Exercises - Maria Hinton
Call Number: PM2073 .O65x
Includes extensive reference and curriculum materials for Oneida language skills.

 

Culture, History and Language

The Labriola Center has material on American Indian language patterns, the association between language and culture, language survival, loss, and renewal.

How to Talk Trash in Cherokee - Don Grooms & John Oocumma
Call Number: PM783 .H69x 1989
Humorous how-to book about making small talk in Cherokee, from saying hello to going shopping to how to get "unlost."

Language maintenance and shift in the United States today : the basic patterns and their social implications - David E. Lopez
Call Number: P119.32 .U6 L66x 1982 v.1-2
These volumes contain quantitative material, with discussion, on the maintenance of native languages in the United States.

Language renewal among American Indian tribes : issues, problems, and prospects - Robert N. St. Clair & Leap William
Call Number: PM205 .L36 1982
This collection includes a range of articles on the preservation of linguistic heritage among Native Americans.

Native American verbal art : texts and contexts - William M. Clements
Call Number: PM218 .C54 1996
A reexamination of the European and Euroamerican written records of the spoken words of Native Americans.

Southwest Languages and Linguistics in Educational Perspective - Gina Cantoni Harvey & M.F. Heiser
Call Number: P21 .S6x 1974
Harvey and Heiser compile articles on the relationship between southwestern languages, culture, and literature.

Western Apache Language and Culture : Essays in Linguistic Anthropology - Keith H. Basso
Call Number: PM2583 .B38 1990
Basso defines some of the central concerns of linguistic anthropology through the close study of Western Apache. He demonstrates how intricacies of language such as place, names, metaphor, and uses of silence, help a people define their existence.

 

Dictionaries and Grammar Books

The Labriola Center collects dictionaries and grammar books for a variety of Native American languages. Some of the dictionaries include native language-to-English, others English-to-native language, and some are brief vocabularies. To locate the call numbers for these volumes, search the ASU Libraries Online Catalog using the name of the language and "dictionary" as follows:

 ALABAMA DICTIONARY

 For grammar books, use the name of the language with "grammar" or, as a separate search, "language" as follows:

 AKWESASNE MOHAWK GRAMMAR

 or

 CENTRAL YUPIK LANGUAGE

 Some languages represented are:

 Ahtna Athabaskan; Alabama; Aleut; Akwesasne Mohawk; Algonquian (Algonkin, Algonquin); Blackfoot; Cahuilla; Central Yupik (Alaska Eskimos); Cherokee; Cheyenne; Chickasaw; Chinook; Chippewa; Choctaw (Chahta); Chukchi; Comanche; Cree; Crow; Cupeño; Dakota; Delaware; Diegueno; Hopi; Hualapai; Iroquois; Kickapoo; Kiowa; Koasti; Lakota; Lushootseed (Puget Salish, Skagit-Nisqually, Snuqualmi); Menominee; Micmac; Muncey (Munsee); Navajo; Nez Perce; Nisenan (a Maidu language); North Slope Inupiaq; Nuxalk; Ojibway (Ojibwa, Ojibwe); Oneida; Papago; Passamaquoddy; Pima; Saanich, North Straits Salish; Sarcee; Siberian Yupik Eskimo

 

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Additional material can be found on the Arizona Indian Index using such key words as "Indians of North America" and "ESL" or "English as a second language."

American Indian English - William Leap
Call Number: PE3102 .I55 L4 1993
This pioneering work documents and examines the diversity of English in American Indian speech communities. It explores the linguistic and sociolinguistic characteristics of English language use among members of Navajo, Hopi, Ute, Tsimshian, Kotzebue, Ponca, Pima, Lakota, Cheyenne, Laguna, Santa Ana, Isleta, Chilcotin, Seminole, Cherokee, and other American Indian tribes.

Bilingual Language Arts Materials for Native Americans: A Quantitative Review of What Exists and What is Needed, 1979-80 - Edward Evans
Call Number: LAB EPH EB-29
Contains statistics on the amount of speakers of certain North American Indian languages, dictionaries, grammars, primary reading material, adult reading material, and ESL material.

English as a Second Language for Navajos: An Overview of Certain Cultural and Linguistic Factors - Robert Young
Call Number: PM2006 .Y6x
Young discusses culture, language, cross-cultural communication, phonology, verbs, vocabulary, word order, and parts of speech.

Follow the Leader: English for Speakers of Other Languages - Oklahoma State Department of Education
Call Number: PE1128 .A2 F6x
This guide presents methods and ideas for the implementation of the language-experience approach to reading for ESL students and includes suggested language lessons, activities, and articles.

Studies in Southwestern Indian English - William L. Leap
Call Number: PE3963 .L4x
While focusing on English spoken in Isleta, New Mexico, this collection of essays also incorporates materials and research from other tribal communities.

Teaching English to native Navajo speakers - William Kniseley
Call Number: PE1130.5 .A57 K65x
Teaching English provides descriptions, diagrams, and discussion of English language sounds. It includes common pronunciation and grammatical mistakes for Navajo students of English.

Teaching English to speakers of Choctaw, Navajo, and Papago : a contrastive approach - Sirarpi Ohannessian & William W. Gage
Call Number: PE1130.5 .A5 T42x
This volume makes available to teachers the results from a comparison of English with Choctaw, Navajo, and Papago.

 

Guides and Handbooks

Guide to Materials for English as a Second Language - William Reich & Jennifer Gage
Call Number: PE1128 .A2 R446x
Includes books, classroom materials, audio and visual aids, and teachers guides. Each entry identifies author, title, publisher, level of materials, skill development, and format with an index for each category.

Guide to Publishers and Distributors Serving Minority Languages - Harpreet K. Sandhu & Laura A. Bukkila
Call Number: P119.315 .S26
This guide provides information on minority language publications, including publisher, description of material type, grade level, content area, and language of material.

Handbook of North American Indians - William C. Sturtevant
Call Number: E77 .H25 v. 4-8
The volumes contain sections on language organized by tribal groups within specific geographic areas. Volume 17 is devoted exclusively to Native American language and linguistics.

Statistical Record of Native North Americans - Marlita Reddy
Call Number: E98 .P76 S73 REF
This extensive volume contains statistics on Native American languages and is especially thorough for Canadian tribes.

 

Language Tapes

Bambi [videorecording] - Felix Salten
Call Number: PN1997.5 .B36x 1989
An Arapaho language version of Bambi, an animated film about a deer and how the phases of its life parallel the cycle of seasons in the forest.

Siksikai (Blackfoot) language series - Vivian Ayoungman & Emma Lee Warrior
Call Number: PM2341 .S55x vol. 1-2
Contains five student books, a teachers guide, a story book and audio tapes.

Cherokee study course I & II [sound recording] - Prentice Robinson
Call Number: PM782 .R6x 1988
Contains one audio cassette and an accompanying booklet entitled Booklet of Beginning Cherokee Language I and II.

Introduction to Chickasaw [sound recording] - Gregg Howard
Call Number: PM801 .H68x 1995
Contains two audio cassettes and a workbook.

Introduction to Choctaw [sound recording] - Charlie Jones
Call Number: PM872 .K57x 1993
Contains two audio cassettes and an accompanying text with exercises.

Lakota [sound recording] : a language course for beginners - Oglala Lakota College
Call Number: PM1024 .Z9 L332x 1989
Contains fifteen audio cassettes, a book, and a set of test sheets.

Kanyen'keha Tewatati [sound recording] = Let's speak Mohawk - David Kanatawakhon Maracle
Call Number: PM1882 .M37x 1993
Contains three audio cassettes and an accompanying text.

Basic Medical Navajo: An Introductory Text in Communication - Alan Wilson
Call Number: PM2007 .W48x 1972
Contains one audio cassette and one workbook.

Breakthrough Navajo: an Introductory Course - Alan Wilson
Call Number: PM2007 .W5x 1969
Contains two audio cassettes and one book.

Laughter, the Navajo Way - Alan Wilson & Gene Dennison
Call Number: PM2007 .W55x
Contains one audio cassette and one book.

Ojibwemowin [kit]: the Ojibwe Language - Judith Vollom & Thomas Vollom
Call Number: PM851 .V64x 1994
Contains a teacher's manual, workbooks, flashcards, one transparency, and audio tapes.

Passamaquoddy - Guilford
Call Number: PM2135 .P37x 1980
Contains five audio cassettes, one booklet of vowel sounds, and two reference books.

Pari Pakuru: An Introduction to Spoken Pawnee - David McNeil & Edward Tennant
Call Number: LAB AUDIO AT-127
Contains four sets of six audio cassettes with teacher's guides and transcriptions.

Salish: Okanogan/Colville Indian Language - Andy Joseph
Call Number: PM2066 .J67x 1994
Contains two audio cassettes and a dictionary/workbook providing thirty lessons in the pronunciation and definition of words and phrases in the Okanogan/Colville Indian language.

Beginning Tlingit - Nora Dauenhauer
Call Number: PM2455 .D38x 1991
Contains two audio cassettes and one workbook.

 

Linguistics

Analytical Lexicon of Navajo - Robert W. Young & William Morgan
Call Number: PM2007 .Y724 1992
This volume presents an extensive and thorough morphology of the Navajo language.

Comparative Vocabulary of Algonquin Dialects - John Gottlieb Ernestus Heckewelder
Call Number: PM605 .H4
This volume features comparative vocabulary charts for English, Lenni Lenape, Minsi, Mahicanni, Natick, Chippawe, Shawana, and Nanticok dialects.

Preliminary report on the linguistic classification of Algonquian tribes - Truman Michelson
Call Number: PM600 .M5x 1913
These extracts from the twenty-eighth annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology classify Algonquian languages by linguistic group. Comparative tables between the different linguistic groups are included.

Popular Account of the Kiowa Indian Language - Parker McKenzie & John P. Harrington
Call Number: PM1531 .M3
The study compiles detailed discussions of phonetics, morphomatics, and lexics, as well as a brief text in Kiowa and English.

The Semantics of Time: Aspectual Categorization in Koyukon Athabaskan - Melissa Axelrod
Call Number: PM1594 .A94 1993
Axelrod describes in detail the Koyukon language�s complicated aspectual system with a discussion of verb theme categories and of the function of the system in discourse.

User's handbook for the Siouan Languages Archive - David S. Rood
Call Number: PM2351 .R66x
Including an index by language, this report describes the contents of the Siouan Languages Archive.

 

Sign Language

Do You See What I Mean?: Plains Indian Sign Talk and the Embodiment of Action - Brenda Farnell
Call Number: E98 .S5 F37 1995
An ethnographic study of the contemporary use of Plains Indian Sign Talk (PST) in Assinboine (Nakota) storytelling.

Indian Signals and Sign Language - George Fronval & Daniel Dubois
Call Number: E98 .S5 F7613 1994
This volume describes how to perform 800 Plains Indian signs and includes hundreds of color photographs of people demonstrating signs.

Indian Sign Language - William Philo 'WP' Clark
Call Number: E98 .S5 C59 1982
This work, commissioned by the U.S. Army, was produced in 1885 by Cavalry Officer William Clark after his six years of observation of the language.

North American Indian Sign Language - Karen Liptak
Call Number: E98 .S5 L57 1990
Designed for a younger audience, this book includes drawings and instructions for how to perform signs for family, weather, seasons, food, animals, and more.

Universal Indian Sign Language of the Plains Indians of North America - William Tomkins
Call Number: E98 .S5 T7 1929
This volume contains a list of basic vocabulary words, a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway, a dictionary of synonyms, and a brief history of sign language.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip