Article Databases
- American Indian History Online
A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs. - American Indian Index
Part of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian in Alaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection. - Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media. - North American Indian Biographical Database
Including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own word - In the First Person
Index to over 2500 English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories.
Internet Resources
Caution!! Before using information from websites, be certain that the source is legitimate and accurate. Following are a few recommended sites:
Reference Books
The following bibliography lists works by and about Native American Women. The material is found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, University Libraries, Arizona State University. Included are biography and autobiography, oral interviews, fiction and non-fiction, and reference works. These are found in various formats: books, audio tape, CD-ROM, video recording, and microfilm. These are listed in the ASUs online catalog.
- Cartographies of Desire: Captivity, Race, & Sex in the Shaping of An American Nation - Rebecca Blevins FerryCall Number: PS173 .I6 F34 1999
- Contemporary American Indian Literatures & the Oral Tradition - Susan Berry & Brill de RamirezCall Number: PS153 .I52 R35 1999
- Contemporary Native American Authors: A Biographical Dictionary - Kay Jurick & Kelly J. MorganCall Number: PS153 .I52 J87 1997 REF
- Harpers Anthology of Twentieth Century Native American Poetry - Duane NiatumCall Number: PS591 .I55 H37 1988 REF
- Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes - Kathy J. WhitsonCall Number: PS153 .I52 W47 1999 REF
- Native American Women: A Bibliography - Rayna GreenCall Number: E98 .W8 G68x 1981
- Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary - Gretchen M. Bataille & Laurie LisaCall Number: E98 .W8 B38 2001 REF
- Native North American Literature - Janet WitalecCall Number: PS508 .I5 N38 1994 REF
- New Voices in Native American Literary Criticism - Arnold KrupatCall Number: PM155 .N48 1993
- On the Translation of Native American Literatures - Brian SwannCall Number: PM159 .O5 1992
- Other Destinies: Understanding the American Indian Novel - Lewis OwensCall Number: PS153 .I52 O74 1992
- The Third Woman; Minority Women Writers of the United States - Dexter FisherCall Number: PS508 .W7 T43
- We've been here Before: Women in Creation Myths and Contemporary Literature of the Native American Southwest - Maria MossCall Number: PS153 .I52 M67x 1993
Autobiography
- Autobiolography of Delfina Cuero - Delfina CueroCall Number: E90 .C945 A3
- Crying Wind by Crying Wind - Crying WindCall Number: E90 .C85 A33 1980
- Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs and Claims - Sarah WinnemuccaCall Number: E99 .P2 H7
- Looking for Lost Bird: A Jewish Woman Discovers her Navajo Roots - Yvette Melanson & Claire SafranCall Number: E99 .N3 M5174 1999
- Mankiller: A Chief and Her People - Wilma Pearl MankillerCall Number: E99 .C5 M335 2000
- Me and Mine: The Life Story of Helen Sekaquaptewa - Helen Sekaquaptewa & Louise UdallCall Number: E90 .S45 A3
- Mountain Wolf Woman, Sister of Crushing Thunder; The Autobiography of a Winnebago Indian - Mountain Wolf Woman & Nancy Oestreich LurieCall Number: E90 .M6 A3 1966
- Morning Dove: A Salishan Autobiography - Mourning Dove & Jay MillerCall Number: E99 .S21 M68 1990
- No Turning Back: A True Account of a Hopi Girl's Struggle to Bridge the Gap Between the World of Her People and the World of the White Man - Polingaysi Qoyawayma & Vada F. CarlsonCall Number: E90 .Q6 A3 1977
- Old Father the Story Teller - Pablita VelardeCall Number: E99 .T35 V4 1989
- The Autobiography of a Papago Woman - Marie Chona & Ruth Murray UnderhillCall Number: GN2 .A22 no. 46 1936
- A Pima Past - Anna Moore ShawCall Number: E99 .P6 S54x
- Pomo Basketmaking: A Supreme Art of the Weaver - Elsie Allen & Vinson BrownCall Number: E98 .B3 A4x 1972
- Pretty-shield, Medicine Woman of the Crows - Frank Bird LindermanCall Number: E99 .C92 L59 1972Located in Hayden Stacks
- Walking Thunder, Dine' Medicine Woman - Walking Thunder & Bradford KeeneyCall Number: E99 .N3 W255 2001
- Sanapia, Comanche Medicince Woman - Sanapia & David E. JonesCall Number: E99 .C85 S25
- Susan La Flesche Picotte, M.D. : Omaha Indian Leader and Reformer - Susan La Flesche Picotte & Benson TongCall Number: E99 .O4 P537 1999
- Waheenee, An Indian Girl's Story - Waheenee & Gilbert Livingstone WilsonCall Number: E99 .H6 W338 1981
- A Voice in Her Tribe: A Navajo Woman's Own Story - Irene Stewart & Doris Ostrander DawdyCall Number: E99 .N3 S8137
- Every Day is A Good Day: A Reflections of Contemporary Indigenous Women - Wilma MankillerCall Number: E98 .W8 M25 2004
Biography
- Daughters of the Earth: The Lives and Legends of American Indian Women - Carolyn NiethammerCall Number: E98 .W8 N53
- Essie's Story: The Life and Legacy of a Shoshone Teacher - Esther Burnett Horne & Sally J. McBethCall Number: E99 .S4 H67 1998
- Flint and Feather: The Life and Times of E. Pauline Johnson, Tekahionwake - Charlotte GrayCall Number: PR9199.2 .J64 Z68 2002
- Hawk Woman: Dancing with the Moon - Tela Star Hawk LakeCall Number: E99 .Y97 L35 1996
- I'll Go and Do More: Annie Dodge Wauneka, Navajo Leader and Activist - Carolyn J. NiethammerCall Number: E99 .N3 W385 2001
- The Making of Sacagawea: A Euro-American Legend - Donna KesslerCall Number: F592.7 .S123 K47 1996
- Maria Tallchief: America's Prima Ballerina - Maria Tallchief & Larry KaplanCall Number: GV1785 .T32 A3 1997
- Molly Spotted Elk: A Penobscot in Paris - Bunny McBrideCall Number: E99 .P5 S755 1995
- Native American Doctor: The Story of Susan LaFlesche Picotte - Jeri FerrisCall Number: R154 .P53 F47 1991
- Tending the Fire: The Story of Maria Martinez - Juddi MorrisCall Number: E99 .S213 M3765 1997
General Works
- American Indian Grandmothers: Traditions and Transitions - Marjorie SchweitzerCall Number: E98 .W8 A54 1999
- Apache: The Sacred Path to Womanhood - John AnnerinoCall Number: E99 .A6 A585 1998
- Ceremony - Leslie Marmon SilkoCall Number: PS3569 .I44 C4 1986
- Cherokee Women: Gender and Culture Change, 1700-1835 - Theda PerdueCall Number: E99 .C5 P3934 1998
- Kinaalda: A Navajo Girl Grows Up - Monty RoesselCall Number: E99 .N3 R597 1993
- Many Tender Ties: Women in Fur-Trade Society, 1670-1870 - Sylvia Van KirkCall Number: F1060 .V36 1983
- The Native American Woman: A Perspective - Beatrice MedicineCall Number: E98 .W8 M4x
- Sister Nations: Native American Women Writers on Community - Heid E. Erdrich & Laura ToheCall Number: PS508 .I5 S57 2002
- Weaving New Worlds: Southeastern Cherokee Women and their Basketry - Sarah H. HillCall Number: E99 .C5 H68 1997
- Women and Power in Native North America - Laura F. Klein & Lillian A. AckermanCall Number: E98 .W8 W657 1995
- Women in American Indian Society - Rayna GreenCall Number: E98 .W8 G73 1992
- Wynema: A Child of the Forest - S. Alice CallahanCall Number: PS1251 .C36
Oral History Collections
Oral Interviews
American Indian Oral History Collection, Clearwater Publishing Company, 1977-1981. Thirty half-hour interviews features a number of women from Plains tribes. On audio Cassette. Ask for guide. E77 .A45x 1977 v 1:1-15
American Indian Oral History Transcripts, 1967-1972. Eleven microfilm reels of transcripts held at the Southwest Research Center, University of New Mexico. Contains over 800 interviews (many women) from the Navajo Nation and New Mexico Pueblos. Ask for guide. FILM 9642 reel 1-11
Listening to Indians, New York Times Oral History Program, 1979. The set contains 144 interviews of individuals representing numerous tribes. Ask for guide or search the American Indian Index for a list of women contributors.E98 .S67 L55 Guide
University of South Dakota Indian Oral History Collection, Vermillion, South Dakota, 1960-1970. Contains taped series of interviews with Plains Indians, mainly from Sioux tribes. Many women are represented. Ask for guide. E78 .G73 A525 2002
Wisdom's Daughters: Conversations with Women Elders of Native America, HarperCollins, 1993. Eldewrs represented are Tewa, Chumash, Northern Cheyenne, Seminole,Ojibway, Oneida, Senecxa, Hoh, Cowichan, and Mohawk,. E98 .W8 W27 1993
Video Recordings
- Elegant Visions - Bartlesville Indian Women's ClubCall Number: E98 .C8 E54x 1993 VIDEO
- Native American Novelists - Leslie M. Silko & othersCall Number: PS153 .I5 N38x 1995 VIDEO
- Loving Rebel: Helen Hunt Jackson 1830-1885 - Chariot ProductionsCall Number: PS2108 .L68x 1987 VIDEO
- Mistress Madeleine - Mireille DeyglunCall Number: PN1997 .M6186x 1987 VIDEO
- Pocahontas: Her True Story - Jonathan GileCall Number: E99 .P85 P574x 1998 VIDEO
- A Season of Grandmothers - George BurdeauCall Number: E98 .W8 S33x 1990 VIDEO
- A Song to Sing: A Portrait of Bonnie Jo Hunt - Bonnie Jo HuntCall Number: ML420 .H86 S66 1982 VIDEO
- Wilma P. Mankiller, Chief of the Cherokee Nation: Woman of Power - Mary ScottCall Number: E99 .C5 W59x 1992 VIDEO
Your Librarian |
Subjects: American Indian issues |




Loading content... please wait
