AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "Ponca Oral History Collection" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Ponca Oral History Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ponca Oral History Collection

Following are four interviews conducted by Scott E. White as part of his research for his dissertation, "A History of the Poncas in Nebraska: A Struggle for Survival." The Ph.D. was awarded by Arizona State University in December 2003. Call number is LD179.15 2003d W478. White covers the history of the Nebraskan Poncas from the earliest times to the present. The tribe has suffered through a long history of military incursions, forced removal, and ultimately termination. Finally, in 1990, recognition was restored.

  1. Gloria E. Chytka, Northern Ponca (LAB LO-16): Mrs. Chytko was secretary to the Northern Ponca Restoration Committee from 1987 to 1990, and served as interim chairperson following restoration. She discusses their efforts as they tried to achieve restoration.

     

  2. Elven Hamilton, Northern Ponca (LAB LO-17): Mr. Hamilton is a retired farmer and telephone company worker, who lives on the Yankton Sioux Reservation. He is serving on the Cultural Board at the present time. Hamilton discusses the period leading up to termination, growing up during the depression, and subsequent cultural revitalization.

     

  3. Timothy Lake, Santee Sioux (LAB LO-14: Lake is the BIA Superintendent and lives on the Yankton Sioux Reservation. He discusses numerous topics dealing with tribal history. Some are: federal-Indian relations; restoration jurisdiction; economic development; land acquisition; Indian Reorganization Act, cultural revitalization and repatriation.

     

  4. LaPointe, James Allen, Nez Perce Ponca (LAB LO-15): Mr. LaPointe also talked about termination, relocation, cultural revitalization, tribal government, Nebraska Indian organizations, education, activism, Norfolk Nebraska Indian Community, and identity.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip