Quick Links
Library and Internet Resources mentioned in this guide.
- ASU Libraries: Catalog
- ASU Libraries: Citation Linker
- ASU Libraries: Industry Standards Available
- ASU Libraries: Interlibrary Loan Service
- ASU Libraries: Journal Title Lookup
- Academic Search Premier
- Applied Science & Technology Index
- ASTM Dictionary of Science and Technology
- Dictionary of Science
- Ebrary
- EI Compendex
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Knovel: Science & Engineering Handbooks
- MyiLibrary
- NetLibrary
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Reed's First Source
- RefWorks
- Safari Books Online
- U.S. Air Force Dictionary
- U.S. Local Codes
- Web of Science
- WorldCat
Getting Started
This guide lists both library and internet resources recommended for aerospace, automotive, and mechanical engineering topics and in many cases, includes instructions for using these resources. In the Quick Links column on the left, the list contains ASU services first, then the major library and internet resources listed alphabetically. Use the TABs at the top of the page to locate different types of resources or information.
In general, types of information can be found as follows:
| To Find: | Use: |
| Short definitions of words or phrases | Dictionaries |
| Short summary of a topic (usually couple of paragraphs to a couple of pages) |
General Encyclopedias Handbooks |
| Longer summary of a topic (usually 20-30 pages) |
Subject Encyclopedias |
| Detailed look at a broad subject | Books |
| Detailed look at a narrow subject | Journal Articles |
| Facts and formulas | Handbooks |
| "How many ...." | Statistical Resources |
| Information about People | Biographies |
To find all of the best material for your topic, it's necessary to have a systematic process for library research. A search that goes from looking at the broad aspects of the topic and proceeds to the more specific aspects is usually best.
- It takes time to research information whether using the Internet or Library resources; good research technique requires the use of more than one resource/database and in many cases, each database may need to be used more than once. Although many library resources are now available online, much of the older material is only available in printed and will require a trip to the library to view.
- Start with gathering background information from the summaries in encyclopedias, handbooks and from authoritative websites. By doing a little background research first, you'll familiarize yourself with the current issues and terminologies of your topic - this will help as you continue your research into more specific aspects. The more you know about your topic, the better research you'll be able to do.
- Once familiar with the basic concepts and terminology of you'll need to proceed to finding books and journals articles on your topic. Use the BOOKS and JOURNAL ARTICLES tabs at the top of this guide for instructions on where to look to find these materials.
- As you do your research, you'll go through a "discovery phase" as you gather information about your topic and learn more about it. In the discovery phase, you'll need to:
- Refine your topic by focusing in on a specific aspect/issue; your topic must have enough written about it but not be so broad that you cannot discuss your topic in depth within your paper's page limit.
- Select an aspect/issue of your topic that you find interesting - it will make the research feel easier to do.
- Select an aspect/issue of your topic on which you can draw your own conclusion from the evidence; this is your opportunity to demonstrate your critical thinking skills - don't just rehash the information you've found in books and articles.
- Look for the "correct" terminology for your topic. There are many different ways to describe the same item, tool, method, or situation. What you may be calling "Young's modulus", an author may instead use any one of these terms: modulus of elasticity, elastic modulus, tensile modulus or specific types of elastic moduli such as bulk modulus or shear modulus. Whenever you find new or different terminology for your topic, go back to whatever resources you used previously and search them again with the new terms; when you use new resources be sure to search both the old and new terms.
- Refine your topic by focusing in on a specific aspect/issue; your topic must have enough written about it but not be so broad that you cannot discuss your topic in depth within your paper's page limit.
Your Librarian |
Linda ShackleNoble Science & Engineering Library, Tempe campus
Room 130J
480-965-7601
linda.shackle@asu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Construction, Engineering (Aerospace-Automotive-Chemical-Civil-Environmental-Mechanical-Transportation), General Sciences, Materials, Mathematics, Patents, Physics, Statistical Sciences
Need Help?
The ASU Libraries provide assistance in many ways:
- In-person at the Information/Reference desks in each of the libraries
- By phone at the Information/Reference desk in each of the libraries
- By e-mail (we'll respond within 2-24 hours)
- By online chat (available M-F 9am-5pm)
For more information about our Ask a Librarian service see: http://lib.asu.edu/help/
The ASU Libraries also have subject librarians who specialize in the literature and information in specific areas. The subject librarians act as liaisons to academic departments, provide library instruction for ASU classes, recommend and assist with library resources for research, and purchase material needed for classes and research.
The Mechanical and Aerospace Librarian is Linda Shackle and her contact information is listed above. Other librarians in related subject areas are listed below.
Other Librarians
Sheila Young
Noble Sci & Eng Library
480-965-5963
sheila.young@asu.edu
(engineering)
Ellen Welty
Polytechnic Library
480-727-1157
ellen.welty@asu.edu
(aeronautics, mechanical engineering, technology management)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait