Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Globalization - Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

This guide will provide access to materials on interdisciplinary issues of globalization. Also look here for links to course web pages for Global Cities and Migration.

E-Reference Sources

Green Energy (SAGE)
Provides an "overview of the social and environmental diminentions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technology tools that can help shape a green energy economy."

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change  (SAGE)
Brings together multiple global warming issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems and policies.

Library One Search

Find most ASU Library's books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

ex: solar energy "developing countries"    geothermal energy india

 

Library One Search  

Research Databases

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Environment Complete
This source "offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."

Organizations

International Renewable Energy Agency
IRENA is dedicated to renewable energy and the site includes country energy profiles and other publications on developing countries and alternative energies.

World Renewable Energy Network/Congress
"Established in 1992, WREN is one of the most effective organizations in supporting and enhancing the utilisation and implementation of renewable energy sources that are both environmentally safe and economically sustainable."

Organizations Engaged in Renewable Energy
"An extensive directory of organizations, including market facilitation organizations, international networks and partnerships, government and intergovernmental agencies, research centers, and university programs."

World Environmental Organization
List of 100 alternative energy web sites.

Subjects: Social Sciences

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.