Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

SLC 494 / SPA 494 / JST 494

Latin American Jewish Culture

Getting Started

This course invovles two disciplines which are interdsiciplinary by their nature, which may make it difficult to locate relevant materials. Please follow the search strategies in this guide and contact us if you have any questions. 

To define your topic, use any of these reference resources: 

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2nd ed., 2007) is a comprehensive encyclopedia for Jewish Studies.  

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Search subject encyclopedias online to find background information.

Sage Knowledge: An online collection of reference titles from Sage Publications. Users may search across all titles, or browse by subject. 

Oxford Digital Reference Shelf:  A group of subject-specific electronic reference titles. For example: Encyclopedia of Human Rights

YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: A definitive work about the civilization of Eastern European Jewry; includes primary source materials such as documents, images, audio and video, and maps. A good background source for Jewish life before immigration to Argentina. 

Print reference titles:

  • Diccionario de apellidos judíos: su etimología, variantes y derivados / Benjamín Edelstein; Asociación de Genealogía Judía de Argentina (2003). CS3010.Z9 L3834 2003
  • Bibliografía argentina sobre temática judía / Alberto Kleiner (1984), 14 volumes. F3021 .J5 K58x 1984 v.1
  • Una historia del libro judío : la cultura judia argentina a través de sus editores, libreros, traductores, imprentas y bibliotecas / Alejandro Dujovne (2014). Z519.4 .D85 2014
  • Jewish Writers of Latin America: A Dictionary / Darrell B. Lockhart (1997). PQ7081.3 .J49 1997 
  • Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture / M. Avrum Ehrlich, editor (2009). DS115 .E47 2009

 

For More Information

Additional information can be found in these library research guides:

Websites

Academic

Folk Literature of the Sephardic Jews: A multimedia archive of ballads and other oral literature in Judeo-Spanish collected from 1957 to 1993 by Samuel G. Armistead (University of California, Davis), the late Joseph H. Silverman (University of California, Santa Cruz), and Israel J. Katz.

Sefardiweb: An academic portal to Sefardic Studies, a project of Los sefardíes ante sí mismos y sus relaciones con España. In Spanish. 

 Community Organizations

Jewish Communities in Latin America: A library guide created by David Hirsch of University of California in Los Angeles. A comprehensive guide to newspapers, journlas, community organizations, sprots clubs, publishers, and more. Includes a bibliography for Jewish Fiction, Poetry, Theatre and Film (1996-2005).

 
Jewish Diaspora, Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC). Maintained by the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. The guide is arranged by countries and communities. Note: this is a community guide, the links are not necessarily scholarly. 

Archives and Museums

La Fundación IWO: A non-profit organization for education and research of the Jewish heritage. IWO library and archives has more than 60,000 volumes archives and artifacts related to the history of East European Jewry, the immigration to Latin America, the Holocaust, Jewish literature and languages, Jewish thought and religion, Israel and the middle east conflict, and more. 

Museo Judio de Buenos Aires

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.