Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Politics and Elections

Library guide covering resources for Politics and Elections with an emphasis on the United States

Newspapers and Newspaper Databases

Access World News  Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

CD News: Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and Arizona Business Gazette (ASU Library workstations only)  (1987 to one month ago or more) Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette).Date Range: 1987 to one month ago or more. For online access to 1999-current Arizona Republic articles see Arizona Republic (Access World News).

Chicago TribuneChicago Tribune (1985-present) indexes each issue thoroughly, covering not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editiorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.

Ethnic NewsWatch  (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media

Nexis Uni  Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.

Los Angeles Times, 1985+  This is the current editions of the LA Times back to 1985 and continues the Historical LA Times

Newsbank Newsfile Collection  (1991+) Provides fulltext access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.

New York TimesThe New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.

Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers:The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975;Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer,1791 - 2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally. 

Wall Street Journal  (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Washington Post  Available from 1923-1954 and 1974-present online. Other issues are also available from our High Density Storage Collection.

Subjects: Social Sciences

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.