Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Politics and Elections

Library guide covering resources for Politics and Elections with an emphasis on the United States

U. S. Politics and Government

Catalog of U. S. Government Publications ( Monthly Catalog) (1976+) finding tool for U.S. federal government publications. Cites books, reports, studies, serials, maps, & other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, public health, etc. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

CQ Library (CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher)
(1983+) A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly and The CQ Researcher.

Nexis Uni Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts

Proquest Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

LexisNexis State Capital (1990+) Includes state government information; directories; state laws; regulations; reports; newspapers of record; etc.

NewsBank Newsfile Collection 1991+) Provides fulltext access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922;  Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers:Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

Subjects: Social Sciences

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.