Environmental Disaster Management
Need more help?
Natural Disaster Links
2011 Tornado Information. NOAA (Nation Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) statistics and analysis of tornado activity for 2011. Many links to other weather information.
Tornado FAQs. NOAA answer guide on tornado basics, historical tornadoes, climatology data, and research information.
Tornadoes... Nature's Most Violent Storms. Information from NASA the weather conditions that cause tornadoes and preparedness measures.
Grant, bob. Scientists brace for oil impact. The Scientist.com. May 17, 2010. Retrieved on August 3, 2017.
Oil Spills. National Library of Medicine. May 21, 2010. Retrieved on August 3, 2017.
Earthquakes and Health- Japan & Haiti
Readings of Environmental Radioactivity Level by (Japanese) Prefecture Time-series data of the affected areas. Collected and mapped four times a day by the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
OCHA Situation Reports Frequently issued humanitarian situation reports from the United Nations.
Google Crisis Response - Japan Includes maps, updated information & peoplefinder
Interactive Map of Japan - Displays real-time Tweets, along with YouTube videos and Flickr photograpy
Japan Earthquake Data Portal - from the Harvard Center of Geographic Analysis.
Government Initiatives
- Restore the Gulf
RestoretheGulf.gov is the official federal portal for the Deepwater BP oil spill response and recovery. This site provides the public with information on the response, current operations, news and updates, how to file a claim and obtain other assistance, and links to federal, state and local partners. - USGS Natural Hazards GatewayNatural hazards gateway on seven phenomena that affect the US — earthquakes, floods, hurricanes, landslides, tsunamis, volcanoes, and wildfires.
Other Resources
- Gulf Oil Spill Information CenterOur colleagues at the University of South Florida have put together a comprehensive guide to resources specifically about the Gulf oil spill.
- WFABBA Wildfire ViewerWeather map style wildfire viewer for past 24 hours.
- USGS National Geologic Map DatabaseThis Web page contains information
regarding the development of methods and standards intended to address a fundamental requirement
of the NGMDB's authorizing legislation, the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992:
Flooding and Pakistan
Animals in Disasters
Animals in Disasters
This web site is a list of web sites that have information on dealing with animals in disaster situations.
Introduction
This guide identifies information resources useful for researching environmental disasters and ways to prevent/minimize them or to manage the aftermath. The scope of coverage includes:
- operational and monitoring technologies
- chemical hazards
- risk management
- disaster planning
- laws and regulations
- environmental consequences
- economic impacts
- health risks
- public relations management
There are sub-tabs below the In The News tab with information about specific types of disasters.
Office of Emergency Management
- City of Phoenix: Homeland Security ＆ Emergency ManagementThis office integrates the whole community in order to plan and prepare for emergencies, coordinate disaster response and recovery, and facilitate public information and warning.
- Office of Emergency ManagementThe Office's mission is to provide expertise and leadership for the Department's emergency management responsibilities through the integration of emergency management programs, functions, and supporting activities to prevent, protect against, mitigate the effects of, respond to, and recover from incidents.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human ServicesThe Office of Emergency Management (OEM) supports state and local partners when requested, prepares the nation’s healthcare system, and connects people to real-time public health and medical emergency information.
Superstorm Sandy
The following links are courtesy of librarian Emily C. Wild of the U.S. Geological Survey:
USGS SURGE GAGES:
State level information on the hurricane storm surge, in real time where available. The USGS surge gages deployed under mission assignment from Regions 1, 2, and 3 are being updated and posted to the following viewer: http://water.usgs.gov/floods/events/2012/sandy/sandymapper.html
Real-time conditions, where available, will be posted through the points on the map. Additional tabular data will also be available through the above site
USGS: Coastal Change Hazards: Hurricanes and Extreme Storms
http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/hurricanes/sandy/coastal-change/
USGS Water Watch
http://waterwatch.usgs.gov/
USGS news blog, Hurricane Sandy: http://www.usgs.gov/blogs/features/usgs_top_story/sandy/?from=title
USGS news release, Hurricane Sandy : http://www.usgs.gov/newsroom/article.asp?ID=3440&from=rss_home
NOAA's National Weather Service information on Hurricane Sandy: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/graphics_at3.shtml?5-daynl#contents
NASA information on Hurrican Sandy: http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/hurricanes/archives/2012/h2012_Sandy.html
Naval Research Lab-Tropical Cyclone Web Page http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/TC.html
Links to State-level information - Hurricanes @ USA.gov http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Weather/Hurricane.shtml
New York City's Severe Weather page: http://www.nyc.gov/html/oem/html/nycsevereweather/weather_home.shtml
New York (State) Severe Weather page: http://www.nyalert.gov/
Environmental Disaster Examples
BP Oil Spill
Mount St. Helens
3 Mile Island
Debris after a Tsunami
Testing for Pollution after Hurricane Katrina
All images in this column were retreived from AP Digital Photo Archive, an ASU Library subscribesd database.
Gasland (documentary) on Fracking for Natural Gas
The film's website
Other video resources in ASU's collections:
Living With the Spill A documentary about the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill
A Village Called Versaille A documentary film about a community in New Orleans
Industrial Processes and Waste Stream Management A series of videos related to industrial waste management
The Prediction Problem A documentary about the difficulties of predicting earthquakes
Anatomy of an Earthquake (streaming) A video discussing the potential multiple disasters that might occur with a major earthquake in southern California
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
