Login to LibApps

ASU Digital Repository: Describe Your Work

https://repository.asu.edu

How Content is Organized

  • Materials in the ASU Digital Repository are organized by collection.
  • Each collection can have multiple items.
  • Each item can have multiple file attachments.

Collection Strengths

The Scholarship Showcase is a collection of open-access articles by ASU authors. Each item is an article title. Each item has one or more files, including the article and supporting materials, e.g., tables, videos or audio files.

The ASU Library archives and distinctive collections contain collections about rare books, manuscripts, maps, audio and video materials with a primary focus on the Southwestern United States, materials used in teaching and research, and the history of ASU.

Permanent Links

Collections, items and files have permanent links that you can use in citations, courses, websites or blogs. See how to link a collection or item in the repository to your Blackboard course content.

To copy a permanent link, right-click the permanent link and copy link location.

Collection Description

We strongly encourage you to add as much descriptive information (metadata) as you can when adding materials to the ASU Digital Repository. More descriptive metadata makes it easier for users to find your materials, and gives your materials a more professional appearance in the ASU Digital Repository. The most important fields are:

  • Title.
  • Description of the collection.
  • Date or inclusive date ranges.
  • Authors or contributors.
  • Subjects.

The item description form has explanatory help tips for each field. Hover your mouse over the fields to view definitions with examples.

Your item will be indexed by search engines after saving. Metadata descriptions in the ASU Digital Repository are public domain.

Tips

  • Subjects: provide unique subjects to help researchers who are interested in a particular subject find your materials while searching or browsing collections.  
  • Series: use series to group similar items within a collection. 
  • Become a Metadata Power User to facilitate discovery of your collection.
  • Collection administrators can edit metadata at any time.

Item Description

Articles

  • Title.
  • Abstract or description.
  • Contributor: the author(s). Can also include thesis advisor or committee member.
  • Series: articles about a specific theme.
  • Subject or topics terms.
  • Total number of pages. Use extant for page range (e.g., 12-74).
  • Date of creation or original publication. Provide a range by separating dates with a forward slash ( / ). Date examples: 1999, 2010-08-20, 1987/1985, 2017-02-01/2017-04-03.
  • Citations can be retrieved from Worldcat or one of ASU Library databases.
  • If the publisher requires an embargo period (typically a 6-18 month restriction on access after the article is published), deposit the article in the repository and set a release date and the file will automatically be made public.

Books and Chapters

  • Title.
  • Abstract or description.
  • Contributor: the author(s). Can also include thesis advisor or committee member.
  • Series: articles about a specific theme.
  • Subject or topics terms, often found in the book online catalog WorldCat.
  • Total number of pages. Use extant for page range (e.g., 12-74).
  • Date of creation or original publication. Provide a range by separating dates with a forward slash ( / ). Date examples: 1999, 2010-08-20, 1987/1985, 2017-02-01/2017-04-03.
  • Total number of pages. Use extant for page range (e.g., 12-74).
  • Citations can be retrieved from Worldcat or one of ASU Library databases.

Sound

  • Title.
  • Abstract or description.
  • Contributor: the author(s). Can also include thesis advisor or committee member.
  • Series: recordings about a specific theme.
  • Subject or topics terms. Describe the subject or theme of the audio, e.g., trombone, lecture recital, chamber music, or piano.
  • Date of creation or original publication. Provide a range by separating dates with a forward slash ( / ). Date examples: 1999, 2010-08-20, 1987/1985, 2017-02-01/2017-04-03.
  • Created date is the date of the original audio recording or performance. For materials digitized from analog audio, provide date of digitization in notes.
  • Include a program, if available.
  • Add metadata description to each audio file, e.g., composer or title of the piece.
  • Resource field can be used to describe the type of audio, like performance or faculty recital.
  • Citations, see the Citation Styles Library Guide.

Moving Image

  • Title.
  • Abstract or description.
  • Contributor: the author(s).
  • Series: recordings about a specific theme.
  • Subject or topics terms.
  • Date of creation or original publication. Provide a range by separating dates with a forward slash ( / ). Date examples: 1999, 2010-08-20, 1987/1985, 2017-02-01/2017-04-03.
  • Created date is the date of the original recording. For materials digitized from analog video or film, provide date of digitization in notes.
  • Citations, see the Citation Styles Library Guide.

Still Image

  • Title.
  • Abstract or description.
  • Contributor: the author(s). Can also include thesis advisor or committee member.
  • Series: images about a specific theme.
  • Subject or topics terms.
  • Date of creation or original publication. Provide a range by separating dates with a forward slash ( / ). Date examples: 1999, 2010-08-20, 1987/1985, 2017-02-01/2017-04-03.
  • Created date is the date of the original image. For materials digitized from analog images, provide date of digitization in notes.
  • Note field can be used to provide further description of the image.  Like notes on the photograph, or significant description of the subject of the image that isn't described elsewhere.
  • Citations, see the Citation Styles Library Guide.

File Attachment Description

Best Practices

  • Provide a name for the files that you attach to each item. Users who are presented with a named file are more likely to open or download the file. For example, see the "La Raza: The Mexican Americans" collection.
  • Provide a table of contents or organizational information to provide context and to orient the user, especially for items with many file attachments.
  • Recognize partner institutions in the contributor field.
  • Add or edit file attachment metadata, click on the small icon to the left of the file title (right-click to view the image in a larger size).

 

Hours and Locations