E-Books: Downloading e-Books for Mobile / Offline Use
Need more help?
Adobe Digital Editions
Adobe Digital Editions will enable you to read ebooks on a desktop or laptop.
- Android devices: see Google Play
- iOS devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch): see the iTunes app store
- Transfer eBook to eReader
Bluefire Reader
Bluefire Reader will allow you to read ebooks on phones and tablets.
- iOS devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch): see the iTunes app store
- Android devices: see Google Play
- Kindle Fire and Nook devices from this FAQ
Guide Overview
The ASU Library licenses or subscribes to many E-Book Collections.
Use the above tabs to connect to the individual database's instructions for downloading e-books.
- In addition to the ability to view thee full-text of titles online, many of these collections also allow current ASU faculty, staff, and students to temporarily check-out or download individual books.
- We license our e-books from a wide variety of vendors and each vendor has its own user interface, download process, and set of rules.
- Those e-books which are not open-access are restricted to current Arizona State University faculty, students and other authorized users - as detailed in our Accessing Licensed Electronic Resources policy page.
- We realize that the inconsistencies between these collections can be frustrating and confusing.
- We hope that this guide will help you to take better advantage of the content within these resources.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. When should I choose to view an e-book online?
A. When you will be reading on a regular sized computer screen (laptop or desktop).
AND
A. When you have internet access.
Q. When should I choose to check-out/download an e-book?
A. When you will be reading on a small screen (tablet, phone, e-reader, etc.).
AND/OR
A. When you plan to read the book in a place without internet access.
Q. How do I download an e-book?
A. Each collection has unique download instructions -- see the tabs in this guide for more information.
Q. How long can I keep the book after I download or check it out?
A. Check-out limits and loan rules vary -- see the tabs in this guide or check HELP links within each collection.
Q. How many people can check out an e-book at the same time?
A. The number of simultaneous downloads and simultaneous online users varies from collection to collection and from title to title. Some are unlimited, while others may allow only a single user at one time. If the maximum limit has been reached, you will be unable to download or view the book and will see a message telling you that the user limit has been reached.
Q. Can I print out an e-book?
A. Printing limits vary by e-book collection -- check the HELP link within each collection.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
