Login to LibApps

ENG 301, Writing for the Professions: Article Databases

A guide to Library resources for ENG 301s.


Subject Specialty Indexes


This list is limited to one or two indexes that are the best starting indexes within specific subject areas. There are a number of other subject indexes that may be useful to you in addition to these at the Research Databases page.


See the box "Accounting Resources" on this page.


Library One Search - Wide

Library One Search - Try It!

Article Databases

The sources listed here are all ASU Libraries’ subscriptions. They provide information from the published magazine and journal literature you will generally NOT find freely on the Internet. Also available through the Research Databases page. You will need your ASURite ID and password to access library databases from off campus.


Academic Search Premier(EBSCOhost)* (1975+)
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,100 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.

CQ Library *
Comprised of CQ Researcher (1992+) and CQ Weekly (1983+).
Provides balanced reporting on controversial current events and social,political, economic and international issues. Includes issue summaries, historical perspectives, recent developments, opposing viewpoints, and additional research resources.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (1980+)
A large collection of full text sources from a variety of publications. It covers the pros and cons of all kinds of social and political issues.

Arizona Republic (1999+, via Proquest)
Access prior to 1999:
  CD News: the Arizona Republic, Arizona Business Gazette (1987-June 2009; in-library use only)

Access World News (1977+)
Provides full-text of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe*
Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; & news transcripts.

Ethnic NewsWatch Complete* (1960+)
Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

Alt-Press Watch* (1970+)
Full-text of alternative press magazines, journals and newspapers. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

All Research Databases for News and Newspaper Articles

Accounting Resources

Research Databases Page

The ASU Libraries subscribes to a large number of specialized indexes and databases.  If you are not finding the kind of information you need in the individual sources on this page, visit the....

Online Search Tips

A guide to some of the most basic online searching strategies and tips.

Subject Guide

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations