GCU 425 Geography of the Mexican-American Borderland
Librarian
Librarian
Need more help?
Course description
This course explores the natural environments and human geography of the Mexican-American borderland, a binational and bicultural region. Examines settlement, boundary issues, ethnic subregions, population change, industrial development, and urban growth.
Location & Hours
We're located in Hayden Library, Labriola Center, 2nd floor and Luhrs Reading Room, 4th floor. Click here for library hours.
ASU Archives & Special Collections
United States – Mexico Border, Naco, Arizona, June 1917
Use the Special Materials Index and Arizona Archives Online to find archival material.
Search Tip: When you're looking for material, use different search terms like: Chicano, Chicana, Hispanic, Mexican American, Latino, Border, Language, etc.
Within the Special Materials Index select the American Indian Index to see documents related to Native Nations located in the Labriola Center.
- Migration NowA print portfolio of handmade prints addressing migrant issues
- Philip Decker CollectionPhilip Decker, an American photographer, documented the lives of Mexican farm workers while crossing the border and in Arizona. The goal of his project was to highlight the fact that the majority of “illegal aliens” are not criminals but hard working people who contribute to America’s economy.
Native American Resources
- Native American Nations: Our Own Names and Locations Map
Map with Indigenous names and places of every documented Native American Nation
- Indigenous Alliance Without BordersTribes directly affected by the U.S. Mexican Border: Pascua Yaqui, Yaqui in Mexico, Tohono O'odham, Tohono O'odham in Mexico, Cocopah, Pima,Gila River, Akimel O'odham, Pai Pai, Kumeyaay, Lipan Apache, Jumano-Apache, Quechan, TIgua, Kickapoo, Mescalero Apache, and Hualapai.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaDatabase for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations. Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
ASU Digital Repository
- Corrido: Los Tres MojadosA corrido written about the 1976 Hanigan Case in Arizona.
- Oral History Project: Undocumented VoicesProject documents the lives of undocumented students, known as dreamers, who have, and are currently, pursuing a more inclusive US immigration policy. These students have captured the public attention for the extensive social and political movement that they have built on college campuses around the U.S.
- Ralph CameronThe Ralph Cameron Oral History digital collection originally resides as an audio tape collection in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, on the second floor of Hayden Library. The call number for the collection is LAB LO-1. The series of 7 interviews with Ralph Cameron interviewed by his son Leroy Cameron discuss education at both Phoenix Indian School and Sherman Institute in Riverside, California, World War II military exploits, community activities, speaking to his grandchildren, and children's stories. A small portion of the interview is in the Maricopa language.
Databases
- Arizona Digital Newspaper ProgramProvides access to digitized Arizona historical newspapers.
- Arizona Memory ProjectProvides access to digitized archival material.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressProvides access to Mexican and Mexican American newspapers published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. Written in English and Spanish.
- Ethnic NewsWatchProvides access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightProvides access to statistical information produced by the state governments and selected private organizations.
Books
Use the ASU Library Catalog or eBooks on EBSCOhost to find books.
A Borderlands View on Latinos, Latin Americans, and Decolonization by Call number: eBook
Landscapes of Fraud by - Briefing Book: The Case for Amending Present Nationality Law byCall number: E99.P25 B76 2001
Films
Use ASU Library Catalog, Films on Demand, NBC Learn, or American History in Video to find films or documentaries.
- Arizona History, A Chicano PerspectiveThree-part documentary traces Chicano heritage and influence in Arizona.
- The Border Crossed UsExplores immigration laws which deny citizenship to the Tohono O'odham, a tribal nation living on both sides of USA-Mexico border.
Maps
- ASU Map IndexProvides access to maps available in ASU Map Collection (Located in Noble Library).
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona)Provides access to maps of towns and cities in Arizona.
- Maricopa County Historic PhotographyHistoric maps and photography from 1930 to present.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
