Login to LibApps

Health Sciences at ASU: Articles (Databases) & Peer Review

Resources & Tools for: Behavioral Health, Biomedical Informatics, Evidence Based Practice, Exercise & Wellness, Global Health, Health Care Delivery, Healthcare, Health Innovation, Health Professional, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition

Get it @ ASU - Free full text of articles and more!

When searching a research database, click Get It!@ASU  for options to access full-text.  

From Get it @ ASU options - click on "Get Article" to access full text

If you see a note saying "Sorry, ASU does not have online access to this article"

Top Research Databases

PubMed: Open Access! The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.'  Includes references from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.

Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.

PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Additional Databases & Resources

More Health Related Research Databases

Food Institute Database :  (Register for a free account) The Food Institute website is a useful source for information related to the food industry including recalls, company profiles, and harvest updates.

National Guidelines ClearinghouseNGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Physical Education Index: Search to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.

Scopus: Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of health and science content from around the world.

SPORTS Discus: Search a topic to retrieve journal citations and abstracts covering all areas of sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education & training.  Full-text contains content from books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and journal & magazine articles.

General

Academic Search PremierThis is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text. 

Web of Science: Provides access to information about publications in approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.  

Google Scholar: enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. *Always access Google Scholar via ASU Library for links to full-text from ASU Library subscription resources.

Business and Education

ABI/Inform Complete: is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. Full text and images included for selected articles. Some Business Cases are now included. ABI/INFORM Complete consists of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive, The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.

ERIC: Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Legislation

Proquest (LexisNexis) Congressional: U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info. 

Proquest Legislative Insight: Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law.  A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers.  Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress. 

Statistics

Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.  It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations.  Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.  

 

Peer reviewed, or not?

Find out if an article was published in a journal that uses peer-review:

  1. Go to Ulrichs Web - a Research Database with information about journals and other publications
  2. Search for the journal title that your article was published in (for example: BMC Medicine)
  3. Look for this image next to the journal title:
    • This image indicates that the journal is 'Refereed,' another term that means 'Peer-Reviewed.'

For more information on peer-reviewed articles and different article types see:

Peer Reviewed/Referreed Tutorial

Finding & Using Different Article Types Tutorial

Ask Us!

All Health Librarians

hlthlib@exchange.asu.edu

Downtown & West campus

College of Health Solutions Programs & College of Nursing and Health Innovation Programs

Kevin Pardon
602-496-0487
Kevin.Pardon@asu.edu

Janice Hermer
602-496-0683
Janice.Hermer@asu.edu

Polytechnic campus

Jeanette Mueller-Alexander
480-965-3084
mue@asu.edu

Tempe campus

Biomedical Informatics & Speech and Hearing

Janice Hermer
602-496-0683
janice.hermer@asu.edu

Kevin Pardon
602-496-0487
kevin.pardon@asu.edu

Global Health

Mimmo Bonanni
480-965-4912
mimmo@asu.edu

 
 
 

 

Hours and Locations