Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Research Databases

 

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (1914-present): Records of the JDC's overseas rescue, relief, and rehabilitation activities.

Bibliography of the Hebrew Book (1460–1960): Descriptive records of books printed in the Hebrew alphabet (Hebrew interface).

DigiBaeck (16th Century to present): Photos, memoirs, manuscripts, books, periodicals, art objects, and audio recordings that document the heritage of German-speaking Jews. The Leo Baeck Institute in New York.

German Refugee Rabbis in the United States of America, 1933–1990: Traces migration paths of German rabbis who fled Nazi Germany after 1933.

Harvard's Judaica Digital Collection: Book, pamphlets, maps, photographs, sound recordings, and ephemera. 

Footprints: The history and movement of Jewish books since the inception of print.

Intergovernmental Committee On Refugees: The West's Response To Jewish Emigration: Documents the work of an international committee which examined the problem of ethnic, racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe, caused by Nazi persecutions (1938–1947).

Jewish Soldiers in the American Civil War, the Shapell Roster: Military history, photographs, letters, newspaper clippings, and diaries.

Judaica Europeana: Collaborative project of European cultural institutions to identify content documenting the Jewish contribution to the cities of Europe: photos, postcards, voice recordings, books, newspapers, archives, and press clippings.

Judaica Index: A database of Jewish material culture featuring images, definitions, and bibliographies about the ritual aspects of Judaism.

Each record includes a definition, images and a bibliography

Judaism and Rome: The Roman Empire as documented in Jewish, Greek, Egyptian and Christian sources, including literary records, epigraphy, numismatics, monuments, and statues. Sponsored by the European Research Council.

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945–1950: Primary source documents such as surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports, and correspondence.

Yerusha: Jewish archival heritage held in archives, libraries and museums across Europe. The project is sponsored by Rothschild Foundation Hanadiv Europe.

YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland: Documents, posters, and photographs, as well as background essays.

Genizah Studies

Friedberg Genizah Project

Scribes of the Cairo Geniza

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.