Login to LibApps

Map Collection: Home

A guide to the ASU Libraries' Map Collection.

Map Specialist

Karina Wilhelm
Map and Geospatial Center
Noble Library, 3rd floor

Your Librarian

The Arizona State University Map Collection

The Map Collection contains more than 200,000 maps, 20,000 aerial photographs, 2,800 atlases and reference materials related to maps and cartography. The Map Collection includes cartographic materials on a wide range of geographic areas and subjects.

Focus of Collection:

  • Contemporary and historical maps related to the Phoenix Metro Area, Arizona, the Southwest and Mexico
  • Geologic maps of Arizona and the United States
  • Aerial photography including historic aerial photography primarily of Maricopa County and other Arizona regions

Federal Depository Program

As a federal depository library, the ASU Map Collection maintains a collection of current maps produced by U.S government organizations.  Examples of cartographic materials received through the depository program include U.S. Geological Survey topographic and geologic maps, U.S. Forest Service maps, Central Intelligence Agency maps, and federal spatial datasets.

Collection Access and Circulation Policy

Collection Access

As part of the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program, the ASU Map Collection is open to the ASU community as well as the general public.

Maps in the Collection can be searched using the Online Catalog or the Map Index, one of the ASU Libraries' specialized databases.  Search the Online Catalog for all geologic maps, recently acquired maps, and all contemporary Arizona maps.  Search the Map Index for all other subject specific maps including historical maps.  Reference books and atlases can also be searched using the Online Catalog.

Circulation and Reproduction

Most maps in the collection circulate for standard loan periods. See the ASU Libraries Loan Policy for more information.

Maps should be checked out at the Map Collection circulation desk. Aerial photographs, atlases and other non-circulating materials must be used in the Map Collection.

An 11"x17" scanner is available for use in the Map Collection to scan non-copyrighted materials.  Collection staff will provide general scanning instruction, but will not scan materials for users.

Copy machines are available in Noble Library.

Hours and Location

The Map Collection is located on the 3rd floor of the Noble Science and Engineering Library on Tyler Mall on the ASU Tempe Campus. Check the campus map for library locations and visitor parking.

Regular hours:
Monday - Friday: 9am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Hours may vary during holidays and intersessions. Call (480) 965-3582 for more information, or check the on-line schedule.


Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations