Login to LibApps

PSY 290 Research Methods in Psychology: The Basics

This guide highlight key resources needed to complete assignments in PSY290 course across ASU, including online. Learn how to find peer-reviewed journal articles, cite materials using APA Style and more.

1. Identify Relevant Scholarly Articles

Link to Tutorial
(1887+) Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) 
Link to Tutorial

(1975+) Provides articles on a wide range of academic subjects including psychology. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals.

For more, related databases, click on the Articles tab in this Guide.

2. Get Your Articles

When You Are Using a Library Database

1.  Sometimes the article is fulltext in the database you're using!

if not...

2.  Click the  button to see if ASU Libraries owns the article in another database.

if not online at ASU Libraries...

3. Choose the InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD Service) option to order your article. It will be delivered to you through your Illiad account, online.

Have a Reference to an Article? Here is What You Do Next!

1. Enter your ARTICLE title in Library One Search. HINT! If you put the title of the article in quotation marks " ", the search will be a little more specific. Usually, just a simple copy and paste will work. 

2. Review results to find your article, click on fulltext link.


Tutorials & Guides

Hints for Article Searching

AND Connector
Link concepts with the word AND.  For example, a good way to find articles about the relationshop between video games and the characteristics of the people who play them would be to search video games AND personality.

OR Connector 
If there are different ways to say the same thing, consider using the linking word OR.  For example, video games OR computer games.

Adding an asterisk at the end of a word will get alternative word endings. A search on child* will find the word child, but will also find childhood and children. Very handy!

Peer-reviewed Search Option  
Remember to click the box that says "peer-reviewed" (located directly under the search boxes). This will make sure you get the kind of research that you probably need for your assignment.

More Search Options
Use other ways to limit as appropriate. Sometimes it helps to limit to a certain age group or population. Scroll down to the bottom of the search screen to see all your options.

Search Help  
If you are not finding what you are looking for, please ask for assistance. We are here to help you!

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations