Login to LibApps

Scholarly Communication: Repositories and Self-Archiving

A guide to issues in scholarly communication, including publishing, open access, copyright, author rights, and digital archiving.

Using Repositories to Share Research

The final phase of the scholarly communication lifecycle is discovery and dissemination. Archiving your work in an institutional or disciplinary repository enhances the accessibility of your research. Archived works can include scholarship created in any phase of the scholarship lifecycle, such as: pre/post-prints, data-sets, conference proceedings, theses/dissertations, and software. The ASU Digital Repository collects, shares, and preserves the scholarly output of the ASU community and advances the discovery of new knowledge. 

Many federal funding agencies and other research sponsors have policies which require published articles and/or accompanying data to be publicly or openly available as a condition of funding. Self-archiving your work in the appropriate repository satisfies most of these requirements. 

For more detailed information about different types of repositories, as well as policies which facilitate self-archiving, view the Open Access: OA Repositories page.

ASU Digital Repository

ASU Library's Digital Repository Services team collects, shares and preserves the cultural, historical and scholarly story of our ASU community, and advances research, teaching and learning by fostering interdisciplinary collaboration and the discovery of new knowledge. ASU Library preserves and provides access to those materials today and for generations to come.

Collections

Materials in the ASU Digital Repository are organized by collections, which can be named for individuals, groups, projects or subjects  (e.g., ASU Sheet Music Collection).

What goes in the repository? 

The ASU Digital Repository includes published or unpublished articles, books, papers, conference presentations, images, creative works and research materials. For more detailed information, read our Collection Policy.

Who can access the repository? 

Anyone in the world can find materials in the ASU Digital Repository using internet search engines or the ASU Library Catalog.

Who can deposit works in the ASU Digital Repository? 

  • An individual to showcase their own scholarship.
  • A project team to highlight a body of work, presentation or interdisciplinary collaboration.
  • An ASU department, institute or college representative to showcase colloquia, .

Benefits of a Collection

  • Permanently store all your scholarship in one place.
  • Easily share your work using persistent links.
  • ASU Library preserves and provides long-term access to your work.
  • ASU Library shares information (metadata) about your collection in the ASU Library Catalog and on the World Wide Web to facilitate discovery and reuse.

Get Help

Need assistance or additional information? Contact us. We're here to help!

U.S. funding agencies

In February 2013, the White House's Office for Science and Technology Policy released a memo mandating all federal funding agencies with budgets of $100 million or more to develop plans "to make the published results of federally funded research freely available to the public within one year of publication and requiring researchers to better account for and manage the digital data resulting from federally funded scientific research." Here is a list of those plans as they become available:

How to Self-Archive Your Research

A diagram illustrating the self-archiving process (click on image to expand).

Scholarly Communication Librarian

Anali Perry's picture
Anali Perry
Subjects: Copyright, Scholarly Communication, Digital Repositories, Scholarly Publishing, Impact & Metrics, Open Access and Open Education.
Profile and Guides
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-7173-4827
Contact:
SkySong 3, Mail Code 9508
1365 N. Scottsdale Rd., Suite 200
Scottsdale, AZ 85257
480-727-6301
Skype Contact

Data Management Plan

A data management plan (DMP) is a written document that describes the data you expect to acquire or generate during the course of a research project, how you will manage, describe, analyze, and store those data, and what mechanisms you will use at the end of your project to share and preserve your data. Data management is best addressed in the early stages of a research project, but it is never too late to develop a data management plan.

For guidance or to arrange a consultation for developing a DMP, consult the library guide.

Hours and Locations