Login to LibApps

Science, Technology, & Society (Hollinger): Home

This guide recommends databases and other resources for the intersection of science and technology with society in the STS sections taught by Keith Hollinger.
Subjects: Sociology
Tags: technology

Getting Started

Need background on your topic? Start with our encyclopedias & specialized dictionaries:

Credo Reference Online

This resource is an online version of a good basic reference collection. It covers nearly every topic in all subject areas. It is one of my favorite starting points for background on major people in history, science, and technology. I also like it to find background on ideas, theories, and movements.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

While this is a good reference collection, they are all published by Gale, a major reference book publisher. What is in this collection is not included in the others listed.

Oxford Reference Online 

Oxford publishes some of the more comprehensive subject encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and humanities. A great starting point for the society aspects of any topic.

Sage Knowledge 

One of my favorite sources for handbook, manual, and encyclopedia style information in the social sciences.

--- If you are not finding your topic, try Britannica Online, a general encyclopedia.

What is Wikipedia good for? The references to the article and the additional reading suggestions.

You would NEVER cite encyclopedias, and especially not Wikipedia or Britannica, in an academic paper. 

Your Librarian

Jenny Mueller-Alexander
WP Carey: Agribusiness, Economics, Information Systems, Marketing, Health Management;
Ira A. Fulton Engineering: Polytechnic School &
ASU Libraries @ Polytechnic campus
Profile and Guides
LOCATION: 38 CNTR Polytechnic campus
Mon-Fri................7:00 am - 3:00 pm
or by appointment
Skype Contact
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations