Login to LibApps

Special Collections: Home

Special Collections Overview

Special Collections houses approximately 34,000 rare and unique books and manuscripts, covering 40 centuries - from circa 2100 B.C.E. to the present - and subjects ranging from Medieval illuminated manuscripts to modern artists books.

Materials are organized by author, size, or subject. Also included are more than 1,080 linear feet of personal and organizational manuscript collections for authors, cultural historians, film and theatre personalities.

To Find Special Collections Materials

  • Search the ASU Libraries Catalog to find special collections books, manuscripts and periodicals.
  • Use the Arizona Archives Online advanced search to find a list of manuscript collections (e.g., literary papers, personal correspondence). Search using the Arizona State University and Special Collections repository checkboxes.

    AAO

  • Search the ASU Digital Repository for digital still images, audio, moving images, multimedia and original research by ASU scholars.

To View Special Collections Materials

Go to Hayden Library, ASU Tempe Campus 

Go to the Luhrs Reading Room on Level 4 of Hayden Library.

  • Special Collections items are only available for viewing in the Luhrs Reading Room. 
  • Luhr's Reading Room Hours.
  • Bring call numbers from your Quick Catalog Search or ask a reference specialist to assist you with finding items when you arrive.
  • Save time: please call in advance if you require access to more than 5 items: 480-965-4932 or send email to archives@asu.edu

Having Trouble Finding Materials or Call Numbers?

  • Call a reference specialist at 480-965-4932 OR
  • Email Archivist Katherine Krzys for in-depth assistance with special collections research and materials.

Policies

Schedule Classes

  • Email Archivist Katherine Krzys to schedule a class, to design a new instruction session that meets your curricular needs, or for in-depth assistance with special collections research and locating materials.

Subject Guide

Kathy Krzys
Contact:
480-965-6519
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Maps and Addresses

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations