Login to LibApps

Thunderbird School of Global Management Archives: Plan Your Visit

Digital materials and research tools providing access to Thunderbird's historically significant records and publications.

Subject Guide

Shannon Walker
Contact:
1 Global Place
Glendale, AZ 85306
(602) 978-7236 IBIC office

Welcome to The Thunderbird Archives

Preserving the Legacy, Telling our Story

The Thunderbird Archives capture 75 years of our history (first as a military training facility and then as a school) in photographs, papers, reports, publications, oral histories, memorabilia and other objects. Our goal is to continue to document the Thunderbird experience from all perspectives, preserving our legacy for future generations of the Thunderbird community. A part of the Thunderbird International Business Information Center (or IBIC), the Archives are located on campus in the Hangar building. More about the School’s history can be found in this LibGuide.

The Thunderbird Archives are available for tours and research by appointment onlyPlease contact the Archivist to arrange for a visit. 

Access Policies and Restrictions

We strive to make our collections as open and accessible as possible. Some archival collections include fragile materials or sensitive information protected by federal and state privacy laws. Our Access Policy describes the basis for the few restrictions we have placed on our materials, and individual use agreements protect the privacy of individuals represented in our collections. Help us keep our collections as open as possible and respect others by completing and abiding by our use agreements and access policies!

What is in the Archives?

  • Papers of the Presidents 
  • School Bulletins and Catalogs (1946-present) 
  • Thunderbird Field materials (1941-1945)
  • Yearbooks (1951-1998)
  • Thunderbird Magazine, Das Tor and Journals 
  • Papers from various departments including Communications, Development and the CMC
  • Strategic Plans
  • Photographs, photo albums, scrapbooks, CD’s and DVD’s
  • InterAd Project notebooks and presentations
  • Commencement announcements, brochures and speeches
  • Pins, buttons, pens, mugs, posters, t-shirts, plaques, and trophies
  • Books by Thunderbird authors


And much more!!

Items sent to the Archives are intended to be kept as part of the permanent record of the School to be cataloged and preserved. This is not the same as sending materials to long-term storage. Storage materials are usually marked for destruction at some future date. They are not part of the permanent record of the School.

When in doubt, please send the items to the Archives and materials will be evaluated. The Thunderbird Archives are located in the Hangar, next to Mail Services. Thank you for your help in preserving the Thunderbird legacy!

ALL MATERIALS ARE ACCEPTED IN PRINT OR ELECTRONIC FORMATS

            

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations