Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

Primary Sources Online

ALA guide on Using Primary Sources on the Web.


General

Acta Sanctorum (1642) A principal source of research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe. Includes materials on the lives of the saints in critical editions with commentaries on the source documents.

British Library Digitized Manuscripts: Covers manuscripts, archives and documents. Also see the British Library's Medieval Manuscripts Blog

Center for Research Libraries: Medieval Studies: ASU Library is a CRL member and you can borrow materials from its collections.

Classical Works Knowledge Base (Cornell University): A clearing house for information about Classical works, including links in the passage level to the following full-text services: Classical Latin Texts of the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI Latin Texts); Greek and Roman Texts from the Perseus Digital Library; Library of Latin Texts - Series A (LLT-A) from Brepols Publishers [licensed]; Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) [licensed] and the Abridged Online TLG.

Eurodocs - Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe: A Wiki-based directory of documents and full-text works arranged by European countries. The section of Germany is quite broad, with theses of Martin Luther King, contemporary reports, etc.

In Parentheses: Free access to texts, translations, and commentaries from a wide variety of areas and disciplines.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook The goal here is to provide and organize texts for use in classroom situations. Links to the larger online collections are provided for those who want to explore further. Areas covered are: Pre-History; Ancient Middle East; Egypt; Israel; Persia; Greece; Hellenistic World; Rome; and late Antiquity.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook This site performs the same function for Medieval History as the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook does for its field. It forms part of ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies, which contains an encyclopedia, bibliographies and other specialized reference works.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook Presents a diversity of texts available on the Internet in the area of modern European history and modern Western Civilization. Designed to serve the interests of teachers and students in college survey courses in subjects such as: the Reformation; Ancient Regime; Industrial Revolution; American and French Revolutions; Scientific Revolution and Enlightenment; The World Since 1945.

The Labyrinth: A World Wide Web Server for Medieval Studies The Labyrinth is a global information network providing free access to electronic sources in medieval studies through a WWW server at Georgetown University. It provides connections to databases, services and electronic texts and images, as well as bibliographies and directories of medieval studies organizations.

Project Gutenberg: "A major source of historical electronic texts that can be searched by author or title.

Perseus Collection, Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin

Perseus Collection, Renaissance

 

Language and Literature

Dictionary of Old English Corpus (before 1100 AD) Contains full text of all surviving material in Old English, excluding some variant texts. Includes over 3000 different texts.

Early English Books Online (1475-1700): From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Folger Digital Texts: Digital editions of Shakespeare's plays from the Folger Shakespeare Library. Include texts and source code for developers.

In Principio Index to one million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. A research tool for scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

Library of Latin Texts Online (1967+) a database of Latin literature from the patristic and medieval periods and the early-modern and modern eras. It contains over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors.

Literature Online(LION) (600+) Includes fully-searchable texts, reference works, bibliographies, catalogues, & links to relevant websites. Includes American Poetry; English Bible; Shakespeare; English Drama & Poetry; Biographical Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia; Dictionary, etc.

Online Medieval and Classical Library: The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.

Troubadours, Trouvères and the Crusades: A database for original source medieval songs written as responses to the crusades. An  Anglo-Italian project, sponsored by the Arts and Humanities Research Council of the UK.


Art

ARTstor Digital Library The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance: A collection of treatises on art and architecture written during the Italian Renaissance (1470-1775). Because of software requirements, this database can be accessed only from ASU Library workstations, using Internet Explorer. 

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online): Digital versions of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world. Documents approximately 90,000 works of art. 

Cranach Digital Archive: An interdisciplinary collaborative research resource, providing access to art historical, technical and conservation information on paintings by Lucas Cranach (c.1472 - 1553), his sons and his workshop. The repository presently provides information on more than 700 paintings including c.8000 images and documents from 92 contributing institutions.

Getty Serach Gateway: Search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

- See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.Z4q7HCJx.dpuf

allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

- See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.Z4q7HCJx.dpuf

allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

- See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.Z4q7HCJx.dpuf

allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

- See more at: http://search.getty.edu/gateway/about.html#sthash.Z4q7HCJx.dpuf

Religion

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts (1500-1700) A collection of primary works from the 16th and 17th centuries containing works of Protestant authors of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. The collection includes searchable full text and digital page facsimiles; texts are in English, French, and Latin.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (1500-1700) A collection of primary works from the 16th and 17th centuries containing key catechisms, biblical commentaries, papal documents, devotional works, theological treatises and other documents related to the reform movement within the Catholic Church before, during and after the Council of Trent.

Europa Sacra Online This database offers coverage of: medieval Church prelates information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates under obedience to Rome; prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs; more recent prosopographical works on members of religious orders and data on secular clergy supplied by nationally-based prosopographical projects.

Patrologia Latina (200-1216) Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. Contains works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus & indexes, Migne's column numbers, & references.


Specific Themes

Connected Histories: Digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace. Check out the

Research Guides to search by topics.

 

Cornell University Witchcraft Collection: Provides access to selected titles from Cornell University Library's extensive collection on Witchcraft.

Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910 This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family.

 

Hours and Locations