Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Design Justice

Resources for Design Justice

Books by Year: 1984-2018


Williamson, Ray A. Living the Sky: The Cosmos of the American Indian. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1984. xi, 366 pages.
E98 .A88 W55 1984 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit & High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection



Williamson, Ray A. Living the Sky: The Cosmos of the American Indian. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1984. xi, 366 pages.
E98 .A88 W55 1987 West campus (Fletcher) LIbrary Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center



Young, Iris Marion. Justice and the Politics of Difference. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1990. viii, 286 pages.
JC578 .Y68 1990 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Noble Library Stacks, West campus (Fletcher) LIbrary Stacks & Ross-Blakley Law Library Stacks



Young, Iris Marion. Justice and the Politics of Difference. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1990. viii, 286 pages.
JC578 .Y68 2011 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



hooks, bell. Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom. New York: Routledge, 1994. 216 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles 3 copies &
LC196 .H66 1994 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit & LC196 .H66 1994 Education Hayden Library Concourse Classroom Collections



Smith, Linda Wuhiwai. Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples, [1st ed]. London; New York: Zed Books; Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 1999. ix, 208 pages.
GN380 .S65 1999 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Noble Library Stacks & Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room



Barton, Craig Evan, ed. Sites of Memory: Perspectives on Architecture and Race. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2001. xv, 193 pages.
E185.86 .S595 2001 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Meeks, Eric V. Border Citizens: The Making of Indians, Mexicans, and Anglos in Arizona. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2007. xiii, 326 pages.
F820 .A1 M44 2007 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Chicano Collection & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks



Wilson, Shawn. Research is Ceremony: Indigenous Research Methods. Black Point, [Nova Scotia, Canada]: Fernwood Publishing, 2008. 144 pages.
GN380 .W554 2008 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks



Kovach, Margaret. Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, Conversations, and Contexts. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2009. 201 pages.
E76.7 .K68 2009 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Hayden Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks



Museum of Modern Art. Small Scale, Big Change: New Architectures of Social Engagement. New York: Museum of Modern Art; Basel: Birkhäuser, 2010. 139 pages.
NA2543 .S6 L46 2010 Design and the Arts Library Course Resources & Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Adjaye, David. Ed. Peter Allison. African Metropolitan Architecture. New York: Rizzoli, 2011. 7 volumes.
NA1580 .A35 2011 v.1-7 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Awan, Nishat, Tatjana Schneider and Jeremy Till. Spatial Agency: Other Ways of Doing Architecture. Abingdon, Oxon England; New York: Routledge, 2011. 224 pages.
NA2543 .S6 A93 2011 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit & Design and the Arts Library Stacks



Brown, Lori. Feminist Practices: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Women in Architecture. Farnham, Surrey, [England]; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2011. xxii, 378 pages.
NA2543 .F45 F46 2011 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Smith, Linda Wuhiwai. Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples, 2nd ed. London: Zed Books, 2012. xv, 240 pages.
GN380 .S65 2012 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Hayden Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room



Smith, Linda Wuhiwai. Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples, 2nd ed. London: Zed Books, 2012. xv, 240 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles unlimited access



Boys, Jos. Doing Disability Differently: An Alternative Handbook on Architecture, Dis/ability and Designing for Everyday Life. Oxfordshire, England; New York: Routledge, 2014. xiv, 220, pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
NA2545.A1 B69 2014 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Lewis, Anna M. Women of Steel and Stone: 22 Inspirational Architects, Engineers, and Landscape Designers. Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 2014. 264 pages.
NA1997 .L49 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Spivack, Emily. Worn Stories. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2014. 159 pages.
GT524 .S66 2014 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Bell, Carla Jackson, ed. Space Unveiled: Invisible Cultures in the Design Studio. New York: Routledge, 2015. xx, 241 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles unlmited access
NA2543.R37 S63 2015 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Howell, Ocean. Making the Mission: Planning and Ethnicity in San Francisco. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015. 392 pages.
F869.S36 M57 2015 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Manzini, Ezio. Trans. Rachel Coad. Design, When Everybody Designs: An Introduction to Design for Social Innovation. Cambridge, MA; London, England: MIT Press, 2015. xiv, 241 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
TS171.4 .M355 2015 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Brown, James Benedict, Harriet Harriss, Ruth Morrow, and James Soane, eds. A Gendered Profession: The Question of Representation in Space Making. London: RIBA Publishing, 2016. 280 pages.
NA1997 .G46 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Brown, Lori. Feminist Practices: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Women in Architecture. London, Engalnd; New York, NY: Routledge, 2016. xxii, 378 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access



Coles, Robert Traynham. Ed. William H. Siener with Sylvia Coles. Architecture + Advocacy. Tonawanda, NY: Buffalo Arts Publishing, 2016. xiv, 124 pages.
NA737.C63 C65 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Frichot, Hélène. How to Make Yourself a Feminist Design Power Tool. Baunach, Germany: Spurbuchverlag, 2016. 144 pages.
NA2543 .F45 F75 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Meeks, Stephanie with Kevin C. Murphy. The Past and Future City: How Historic Preservation Is Reviving America's Communities. Washington, DC: Island Press, 2016. xv, 334 pages.
NA9053.H76 M44 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Stratigakos, Despina. Where are the Women Architects?. Princeton, NJ; Woodstock, Oxfordshire, [England]: Princeton University Press, 2016. x, 114 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
NA1997 .S77 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Tauke, Beth, Korydon Smith, and Charles L. Davis, eds. Diversity and Design: Understanding Hidden Consequences. New York: Routledge, 2016. xix, 305 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access &
NK1520 .D59 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit & Design and the Arts Library Stacks



Wilkins, Craig L. Diversity Among Architects: From Margin to Center. New York: Routledge, 2016. xxvi, 202 pages.
NA1995 .W55 2016 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Anthony, Carl C. The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race. New York City: New Village Press, 2017. xxii, 362 pages.
NA737.A58 A2 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Artisan. Why We March: Signs of Protest and Hope: Voices from the Women's March. New York: Artisan, 2017. 263 pages.
HQ1155 .W49 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Boys, Jos, ed. Disability, Space, Architecture: A Reader. New York: Routledge, 2017. xxiii, 317 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
NA2545.A1 D57 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Brannon, Cecelia H. Maya Lin: Artist and Architect. New York: Enslow Publishing, 2017. 24 pages.
N6537.L54 B73 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Brown, Adrienne Marie. Emergent Strategy: Shaping Change, Changing Worlds . Chico, CA: AK Press, 2017. 274 pages.
RC 489 .M53 B756 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



De la Pena, David, Diane Jones Allen, Randolph T. Hester, Jeffrey Hou, Laura J. Lawson, and Marcia J. McNally, eds. Design as Democracy: Techniques for Collective Creativity. Washington, DC: Island Press, 2017. xii, 326 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access &
HT241 .D469 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Ellis, Clifton and Rebecca Ginsburg, eds. Slavery in the City: Architecture and Landscapes of Urban Slavery in North America. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2017. ix, 186 pages.
NA2543.S6 S59 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Escobar, Arturo. Designs for the Pluriverse: Radical Interdependence, Autonomy, and the Making of Worlds. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2017. xxi, 290 pages.
NK1520 .E83 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Gyure, Dale Allen. Minoru Yamasaki: Humanist Architecture for a Modernist World. New Haven, [CT]; London: Yale University Press, 2017. xi, 283 pages.
NA737.Y3 G98 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Interboro. Arsenal of Exclusion & Inclusion. New York: Actar Publishers, 2017. 459 pages.
HT167 .A84 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Keinonen, Turkka. Designers, Users and Justice. London; New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2017. xv, 226 pages.
NK1505 .K45 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Logan, Cameron. Historic Capital: Preservation, Race, and Real Estate in Washington, D.C. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2017. xxvii, 262 pages.
NA9127.W2 L64 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Richards, William. Revolt and Reform in Architecture's Academy: Urban Renewal, Race, and the Rise of Design in the Public Interest. New York, NY: Routledge, 2017. 138 pages.
NA2300.C635 R53 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Sutton, Sharon Egrettsa. When Ivory Towers Were Black: A Story about Race in America's Cities and Universities. New York: Empire State Editions, 2017. xix, 288 pages.
NA2300.C635 S87 2017 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Avila, Maria. Transformative Civic Engagement through Community Organizing. Sterling, VA: Stylus Publishing, LLC, 2018. xiv, 111 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
HM766 .A85 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Battle-Baptiste, Whitney and Britt Rusert, eds. W. E. B. Du Bois's Data Portraits: Visualizing Black America: The Color Line at the Turn of the Twentieth Century. [Amherst, MA]: W.E.B. Du Bois Center at the University of Massachusetts Amherst; New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2018. 144 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
E185.86 .D846 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Dalla Costa, Wanda. Indigenous Placekeeping: Campus Design + Planning. Tempe?: Arizona State University, 2018. 114 pages.
E97.65 .A6 D344 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, Hayden Library Labriola Center Open Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center



DiAngelo, Robin J. White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism. Boston: Beacon Press, 2018. xvii, 169 pages.
HT1521 .D486 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit, HT1521 .D486 2018 Revolutionary Hayden Library Chuparosa Featured Collections & HT1521 .D486 2018 Societies Hayden Library Sun Devil Reads



DiAngelo, Robin J. White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism. Boston: Beacon Press, 2018. xvii, 169 pages.
eBooks on EBSCOhost 2 copies



Groman-Murray, Andrew and Matt Cook, eds. Queering the Interior. London, England: Routledge, 2018. xvi, 233 pages.
NA2543.H65 Q44 2020 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Nieves, Angel David. An Architecture of Education: African American Women Design the New South. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Press, 2018. xiii, 193 pages.
LC2802.S9 N55 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Noble, Safiya Umoja. Algorithms of Oppression How Search Engines Reinforce Racism. New York: New York University Press, 2018. xv, 229 pages.
Ebook Central unlimited access
ZA4230 .N63 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Ristovska, Sandra and Monroe Price, eds. Visual Imagery and Human Rights Practice. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018. xvii, 320 pages.
P96.H85 V57 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit



Singer, Howard and Sarah Watson, eds. Acts of Art and Rebuttal in 1971. New York: Hunter College Art Galleries, 2018. 103 pages.
N6538.N5 A42 2018 Design and the Arts Library Exhibit


The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.