Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


EDP 313-Childhood and Adolescence

Research Databases

PsycINFO
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.


 ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

 

Education Full Text
(1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, and others.


EBSCOhost
EBSCO databases cover a wide range of academic subjects.When looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

ProQuest
Access to a collection of databases for the arts, business, dissertations & theses, health & medicine, history, literature & language, news & newspapers, science & technology, and social sciences. 


SAGE Research Methods Online 
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects, and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines. Click on "Browse," select "Education," and search within results. 

Web Searching Tips

When using web pages or documents for university research, you want to find quality sources, ones that are reliable and authoritative. Below are some tips for using the internet search engine Google to help you find quality sources. As you select your sources, you will need to examine them with a critical eye.

Google Advance Search  (under Settings

Domain Searching
With the Google Advanced Search you can limit your searches to specific kinds of sites, for example:

.org--for organizations of all kinds
.edu--for educational institutions
.gov--for government sites
 

You can also enter your keywords directly into the search box followed by the command site:[domain] no space between "site:" and domain (edu or gov).  

Examples (copy and paste in the search box):

immigrants "health care" site:gov
immigrants "health care" site:edu

Generally speaking, pages and documents from the kinds of sites listed above are more acceptable for university and "serious" research. Be warned - .org is no longer limited to just Not-For-Profit organizations. It may be used by anyone - beware of organizations you don't recognize or that appear to be selling a lot of products.

Is the article peer-reviewed?

Use Ulrich's Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out 

  • if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
  • if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
  • general information about magazine or journal

This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.