EGR 104
Starting Research on Scholarly Literature
Time, Newsweek, Popular Science, and other magazines serve the purpose of summarizing your topic. This is reporting, not scholarly research. Look through theses articles for names of researchers and institutes that are working on the project. These names may help you narrow your topic if there is too much information. These articles often include useful websites, but these are frequently are biased in one direction or another. Corporate or product websites are biased in favor of the company. Trade journals cover the news of particular industries and the latest technological developments. Scholarly articles can review the literature, comment on the research, and report the latest research and developments. These articles will tell you what the engineering world is doing. These are starter databeses for these levels of information. Your research for engineering classes should not stop here.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA general database with a mix of scholarly and popular articles.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowA business database that is an excellent source of industry news and scholarly business articles. Excellent for leads on new technology trends are in the business & economics of engineering.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAn environmental database that covers popular and scholarly articles.
- Sustainability & EnvironmentA more complete list of ASU Library Research Databases related to the environment
Engineering Literature
These are some of the core databases for the engineering literature. These are required for writing any paper for an engineering class. The 3 listed below cover all types of engineering. Click on the link to see a more detailed list of engineering databases in ASU Library.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThis is combined with Inspec into one searchable platform. Going to either one will default to searching both databases at the same time. You may see the same article twice, but the abstracts and descriptor/subject terms may be different. These are the major indexes that engineers have used for over a century to find their scholarly literature.
- Inspec This link opens in a new windowThis is combined with EI Compendex into one searchable platform. Going to either one will default to searching both databases at the same time. You may see the same article twice, but the abstracts and descriptor/subject terms may be different. These are the major indexes that engineers have used for over a century to find their scholarly literature.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowContains full text journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
Your Librarian
HOURS:
Mon-Fri................7:00 am - 3:00 pm
or by appointment via phone, Zoom, Slack, Skype (no in person at the moment)
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
