Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


EPD 710-Current Research in Design

Resource guide for PhD students

Library Search Engines

Library One Search  

                  Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

 

Google Scholar (via ASU)
Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The ASU Library subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. 

Article Databases

Image Databaseshttps://libguides.asu.edu/designresources/images 

Design and Applied Arts Index 
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theater design, design and craft education and design management.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Constitutes the preeminent architecture index covering a broad and international array of architectural publications, including: journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications and major serials on architecture and design.

(Elsevier's) Science Direct
Design coverage ranges broadly from architecture, building, construction, ergonomics, user-centered design, landscape architecture, etc.

Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. 

JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Relevant subject areas include: Architecture & Architectural History and Art & Art History.

Academic Search Premier 
Covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.  

ProQuest
Provides access to a collection of databases for the arts, business, dissertations & theses, health & medicine, history, literature & language, news & newspapers, science & technology, and social sciences. Searches can be run on a single database, on a grouping of databases, or every available database.

Web of Science
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references covering more than one thousand  journals in arts and humanities, over 5,800 journals in scientific and technical, and over 1,700 journals in social sciences.

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, providing online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals.


Online Reference Sources: https://libguides.asu.edu/designresources/reference 

Open Access Databases

Archnet
Resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures.


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.


Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Provides access to the nation's cultural repositories such as Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive


Oxford Journals

Oxford Journals operates two different modes fully and optional open access journals.


Sage Open

SAGE Open publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Accepted articles span the full extent of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

Dissertation and Theses Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. 

Dissertations & Theses @ Arizona State University
Coverage: 1954-1979 (index only), 1979+ (full text of the dissertations included) 
A searchable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations.  

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations
This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

Open Access dissertations and theses

Is the article peer-reviewed?

Use Ulrich's Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out 

  • if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
  • if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
  • general information about magazine or journal

This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb

Hours and Locations