Justice through School Gardens (HUL 598)
About this guide
This guide is intended to assist students enrolled in the Justice through School Gardens Humanities Lab (Fall 2022).
Related ASU Library guides:
Your Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Library Search Engines
Library One Search
Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, and other items.
To find a book, click on Advanced Search, All Items, and select Books from the drop-down menu.
Google Scholar (via ASU)
Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, abstracts, conference proceedings, and other type of scholarly materials.
Library Resources: Databases
All ASU Library databases: https://libguides.asu.edu/az.php
ProQuest and EBSCOhost (EBSCO) platforms provide access to a collection of databases for the arts, history, literature & language, social sciences, and many other disciplines. Searches can be run on a single database or on a grouping of databases.
Academic Search Premier
Covers thousands of mostly English-language scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Agricola
Provides citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. It covers materials in all formats, such as journal articles, book chapters, monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, etc.
Anthropology Plus
Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Anthrosource
Database of the American Anthropological Association. Provides scholarly articles on all facets of anthropology and archaeology.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access (free), peer-reviewed journals.
FAOSTAT (Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations)
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
GreenFILE
Provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environment from a variety of perspectives. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management.
HathiTrust
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database that provides full-text online access to scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Sociological Abstracts Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
SocIndex with Fulltext
Covers a wide spectrum of disciplines, such as gender studies, justice studies, economics, development, psychology, social work, and others.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems
Provides a body of knowledge of the planet’s life support systems and an integrated compendium of twenty component encyclopedias.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology | Evolutionary Biology
Every article in this database is "an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations."
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Social Work
This valuable resource contains hundreds of articles of interest to social work practitioners, scholars, and students. A wide variety of topics are included, along with biographies of key figures in social work history. This resource is updated monthly.
Sage Knowledge: Sage Reference Online Handbook Collection
SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Law & Public Policy
Nexis Uni
Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, & news transcripts.
HeinOnline
An image-based collection of legal periodicals. The materials are organized into several libraries which are listed on the HeinOnline Welcome screen. View a library by clicking its link. Any of the subscribed libraries can be searched separately by clicking on the Search tab, including Criminal Justice Journals, Intellectual Property, Treaties and Agreements.
Video Collections
Google Search Tips
When using web pages or documents for university research, you want to find quality sources, ones that are reliable and authoritative. Below are some tips for using the internet search engine Google to help you find quality sources. As you select your sources, you will need to examine them with a critical eye.
Google Advance Search (under Settings)
Domain Searching
With the Google Advanced Search you can limit your searches to specific kinds of sites, for example:
.org--for organizations of all kinds
.edu--for educational institutions
.gov--for government sites
You can also enter your keywords directly into the search box followed by the command site:[domain] no space between "site:" and domain (edu or gov).
Examples (copy and paste in the search box):
"food insecurity" "school gardens" site:gov
"food insecurity" "school gardens" site:edu
Be warned - .org is no longer limited to just Not-For-Profit organizations. It may be used by anyone - beware of organizations you don't recognize.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
