Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Islamic Studies

Getting Started: Background Information

Encyclopedia of Islam (Brill, 2016): Search this up-to-date, authoritative source on a platform that includes all editions and the Historical Atlas of Islam. Once on the Brill Online platform, use the search box for articles from all edition, or scroll down to access the latest, third edition (Encyclopedia of Islam, Three). Also see print edition.

 

The New Cambridge History of Islam, 2010: Access via Cambridge Histories Online; a 6 volumes title.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (Brill, 2012): An interdisciplinary work that covers all Islamic cultures and historical periods.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2004 (via Gale Virtual Reference Library; also available in print).

Columbia World Dictionary of Islam.  2007.


Islamic Communities

Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History. 2010.

North American Muslim Resource Guide.  2002.  

Islam in America. New York: Columbia University Press, 2010. BP67.U6 S6 2010

Encyclopaedia IranicaA free resource edited at Columbia University, provides information on all aspects of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent, including Shia Islam.


Islamic Philosophy. Science, and Art

Arabic and Islamic Science and Its Influence on the Western Scientific Tradition: A historical overview based on collections in the World Digital Library. This overview covers four areas of influence: mathematics, astronomy, medicine, and technology.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (EBR): A comprehensive guide to artistic representations of the Bible in Abrahamic religions, including Islam; covers bible representation in literature, visual art, music, film, and dance.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Covers subjects related to Religious Studies, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.   

 Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Each entry in this dynamic reference work is authored and updated by an expert or group of experts in their field; maintained by Stanford University.


Quran Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Qurʼan: an encyclopedia.  2006. 

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam.  2003

Guide to Sira and Hadith literature in Western languages.1986. 

Hours and Locations