Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Islamic Studies

This guide will introduce you to research resources primarily from the ASU Library for the study of Islam as a religion. Other open access resources are included that have significant research and scholarly potential.

Digitized Collections

General

An Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library

The MANUMED Project: Aims to preserve the written and immaterial heritage of the euro-mediterranean area. Partner libraries in the near east: Khalidi Library, Budeiri Library, Al Aqsa Library, Al Ansari Library, The Waqf Restoration Center.

Middle Eastern and Islamic Resources a the Center for Research Libraries (Arabic manuscripts in the British Library; Arabic manuscripts in the library of SOAS, University of London): ASU Library is affiliated member, therefore all CRL materials are available for inter-library loan.

Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library, the American University in Cairo: Several digital collections, including journal articles, book chapters, and images.

Databases and Websites

General

Muslim Heritage:  An online community of scholars devoted to the study of Muslim Heritage.  A good starting point for introductory information.

A Chronology of 19th Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900): Includes indexes for persons, organizations, locations, and holding institutions. The Zentrum Moderner Orient (ZMO), a German research institute devoted to an interdisciplinary and comparative study of the Middle East, Africa, Central Asia, South and Southeast Asia from a historical perspective.

Transcultural Islam Research Network: Aims to deepen understanding of Islamic cultures and issues. Includes a lot of informative resources, including new publications, research groups, and web resources.

Muslim, Christian, and Jewish Relations in the Middle East: "This forum aims to promote the humanistic study of urban religious cultures in the Middle East and North Africa during the Islamic era, i.e., in the period following the rise of Islam in the seventh century. It seeks to draw the attention of researchers to useful resources, and particularly to printed books, manuscripts, and images in the library collections of the University of Pennsylvania."

Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding (Georgetown University): "'Of special interest is the Islamic resources link, which pulls together Web sites of major Muslim publications, organizations, and academic programs around the world." (CHOICE Review Online)

BiblioIslam  : provides access to more than 250,000 academic theses, books, journal articles, research essays and conference papers - in English and Arabic.

Islamicity.com: This website is maanged by Human Assistance and Development International (HADI), a non-profit organization "working for the socoi-economic, seducationalm, and scientific development of people worldwide".


Art and Architechture

Archnet: Islamic Architecture Community of scholars, students, and professionals working in architecture, planning, landscape design, and the related fields. The project was developed at the University of Texas at Austin and the MIT School of Architecture and Planning in co-operation with the Aga Khan Trust for Culture.

ARTstor Digital Library: Islamic Art and Architecture Collection (Sheila Blair, Jonathan Bloom, Walter Denny); Shangri La, Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art.


Quran Studies

The Quranic Arabic Corpus is an annotated linguistic resource for the Quran, including the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word.  Also includes the full text of the Quran, translation into English, and audio recitations (require iTunes). 

Hours and Locations