Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Islamic Studies

This guide will introduce you to research resources primarily from the ASU Library for the study of Islam as a religion. Other open access resources are included that have significant research and scholarly potential.

Index Islamicus (1906+): Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, who monitors over 2,000 journals for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS: American Theological Association Database covering Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues.

Philosopher's Index (1940+):  Comprehensive and international indexing to books and journals in Philosophy.  

Iraqi Academic Scientific Journals: An Open-Access platform for peer-reviewed journals published by Iraqi universities and research institutions.English and Arabic interfaces.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online: A comprehensive, multilingual database, covering journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by scholars. The content is arranged by topics in a structured bibliography that covers all subjects related to Philosophy and different philosophical traditions, as well as philosophy of specific disciplines (Biology, Mathematics, Social Science, Religious Studies, Language, etc.). The database is maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center.

Multidicsiplinary Article Databases

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

JSTOR: Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

Project Muse:  A current collection of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.  

Directory of Open Access Arab Journals: Hundreds of journals from over 150 publishers in Arab countries. The directory is curated and funded by a group of OA activists.

Hours and Locations