Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Islamic Studies

This guide will introduce you to research resources primarily from the ASU Library for the study of Islam as a religion. Other open access resources are included that have significant research and scholarly potential.

News Articles in Newspapers and Magazines

News Articles

Access World News (1977+): Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Alt-PressWatch (1970+): Covers selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+): Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

Nexus Uni: Full text of 5,000+ newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals. Includes much more in addition.  

New York Times: 1850-Present. Complete access to the NYTimes, current and past.  You must be physically on campus to create your account. 

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada.


 


Archived Newspapers

Preservation of historical periodical collections (1900-1950) at the Al-Aqsa Mosque Library in East Jerusalem: British Libraries's Endangered Archives Programme.  Mostly in Arabic. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.