Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies

You'll Need to Use:

Don't start a project without first gathering the tools you'll need.

Your 3 Library Accounts: Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Library home page, http://lib.asu.edu


Keeping Track

You'll be searching many databases multiple times and with different search strategies - keeping track of what you need to do as well as what you've already done will eliminate redundancies and prevent missing steps.  Don't forget to keep track of alerts/feeds/saved searches as well.

Try the Keeping Current Library Guide for easy ways to keep up with new articles on your topic using alerts, feeds, and saved searches.  Let the databases and journals do the work for you. All you'll have to do is read.

Use what ever "keeping track" method works best for you - paper or software.  

Graduate Student Library Guide

More tools and resources at the Graduate Student Guide, an Introduction to Research Resources and Library Services for ASU Graduate Students.

Literature Reviews: An Overview

Thank you to the NCSU Libraries who created this excellent video overview and gave it a CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0 License   

Meet Your Subject Librarian

Find the librarian skilled in your research area. They can help you determine the best databases and resources to use for a literature review in your field.

Find Your Research Guide

Use the Research Guide for your subject area to find the best databases and resources in your field or topic area of focus.

ASU Graduate Writing Centers

Get help on writing projects including: brainstorming, drafting, and revising.

Writing Tools

Strategies for Successful Writing -  A series of tutorials, webinars, and lectures from the ASU Graduate College's Strategies for Success webpage.

Citation Styles - This guide provides information about citing resources and citation styles.

Citation Management Tools - This guide provides information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generating bibliographies, and collaborating with others.

Academic Integrity - A resource guide for learning and teaching academic integrity principles. Also includes plagiarism awareness resources.


Tonette S. Rocco and Tim Hatcher, eds. The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2011. (E-Book)

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting's picture
Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579

Hours and Locations