Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Open Education

All about open education and how to find open educational resources

2019-2020 OER Workshop Series

maricopa community colleges Maricopa Millions Logo

This seven part workshop series, presented by Maricopa Millions in partnership with ASU, is designed to bring a beginner all the way through to a certified practitioner by approaching “open” from a variety of perspectives. Each workshop is offered 5 times each throughout the Maricopa County Community College District and ASU. All ASU and MCCCD instructors and IDs are welcome at any workshop!

  • Discover a wealth of innovative ideas and open resources…
  • Learn about successful practices and models for use and sharing...
  • Get your students free, immediate and permanent access to educational materials...
  • Relieve your students of some of the financial burden of education...
  • Experience innovative approaches to content publishing…

...All while earning Maricopa Millions certification as an OER Practitioner!

Participants will receive a stamp in their “OER Passport” upon attending each workshop. Those who fill out their passport by attending all seven workshops will receive a Maricopa Millions “OER Practitioner” certification. MCCCD employees are also eligible for 1.5 FPG per workshop, up to a total of 10.5 FPG for all seven workshops.

Fall 2019 Workshop Schedule

Click on the workshop title to register for the date and location most convenient to you!

Workshop

ASU Skysong

West Valley

 

Central Valley

 

North Valley

 

East Valley

 

What “Open” Means: The History, Philosophy, Practice, and Future of Open Educational Resources

Friday, August 30, 12:30-4:00 p.m., Room: Skysong 3, room 135 Synergy II

Friday, September 9, 12-3:30 p.m., Estrella Mountain Community College, Room: MON CTL N

Wednesday, September 11, South Mountain Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: CTL

 

Thursday, August  29, Scottsdale Community College, 1-3, Room: IT 115

Wednesday, September 4, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, 12:00-3:30 p.m., Mesquite Hall Room: CTL

Clearing the Weeds with the Proper Whacker: Copyright and Licensing with OER

Friday, September 13, Gateway Community College, 10 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Room: CTL

 

 

Thursday, September 12, Scottsdale Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: IT 115

Wiki-Wiki-What?: Finding, Using, and Remixing Openly-Licensed Content

Thursday, September 19, 12:30-4:00 p.m., Room: Skysong 3, room 130 Synergy I

Friday, September 27, Glendale Community College, 12:00-3:30 p.m., Room: HT2-139

Thursday, September 26, Paradise Valley Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: Q130

Wednesday, September 25, Mesa Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: CTL

“Ground-Up” Isn’t as Bad as It Sounds: Developing and Publishing Your Own OER

Friday, October 18, South Mountain Community College, 10 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Room: CTL

Thursday, October 10, Paradise Valley Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: Q130

Wednesday, October 16, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, 12:00-3:30 p.m., Mesquite Hall Room: CTL

The “MOER” You Know (or Don’t Yet Know): Leveraging Existing Platforms for OER in Your Courses

Friday, October 4, 1-3 p.m., Room: Skysong 3, room 135 Synergy II

Friday, October 11, Glendale Community College, 12:00-3:30 p.m., Room: HT2-139

Tuesday, October 22, Scottsdale Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: IT 115

Work that Doesn’t Go into the Trash: Involving Students in “Renewable” Assignments through Open Content

Friday, October 25, 12:30-4:00 p.m., Room: Skysong 3, room 135 Synergy II

Thursday, November 7, Phoenix College, 1-3 p.m., Room: F201

Thursday, November 14, Paradise Valley Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: Q130

Friday, November 8, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, 12-3:30 p.m., Mesquite Hall Room: CTL

“Open” at a College Near You: Best and Worst Practices for Growing OER on Your Own Turf

Friday, November 22, Estrella Mountain Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: MON CTL N

Friday, November 15, Gateway Community College, 12-2 p.m., Room: CTL

Thursday, December 5, Paradise Valley Community College, 1-3 p.m., Room: Q130

 

Maps and Locations:

"Open with Hot Air Ballons" is licensed by Matthew Bloom.

Creative Commons License
"Open with Hot Air Balloons" is licensed by Matthew Bloom under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Hours and Locations