Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Philosophy

ASU Library Collections

Past Masters: A large collection of primary documents in the humanities. The texts are definitive editions of the complete works of many seminal figures in the history of thought, ranging from ancient Greece to the late 19th century.  In English translation.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online: Provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts (1500–1700): The database includes over a thousand primary works that represent the theological thought of Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Presbyterian, Baptist, and Anabaptist traditions. 

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (1500–1700): The database includes primary works that represent the theological thought that predated and followed the Roman Catholic Church’s Council of Trent, resulting in Catholic reform. The works are presented in their original languages.

Center for Research Libraries: Religion and Philosophy: ASU Library is a CRL member and you can borrow materials from its collection, which includes many missionary documents, early printed books on religion from colonial Spanish America, and documents from several Christian denominations.

Hathi Trust:  A shared collection of online texts from many research libraries, including ASU's.  Spans the history of printed text and includes many languages.  

Eighteenth Century Collections Online:  180,000+ full text book titles published between 1701 and 1800 in England and America.  

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: A collection of books, journal articles, newspaper articles, and more.  

Periodicals Index Online: An index with full-text retrieval of articles in thousands of journal articles from about 1700 to 1995.  

From the Web

Digital Archives of Philosophical texts on the NET: Primary texts from Presocratic to Modern philosophy in their original languages.

European Cultural Heritage Online (ECHO): More than 300,000 high resolution images of historical sources, including philosophy.

Perseus Digital Library: Full text of classical Greek and Roman texts (and others from the classical world).

World Digital Library: Significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Hours and Locations