Login to LibApps


Popular Culture Studies: Library Collections

Major Collections of Popular Culture Materials (different subjects and formats)

American Popular Literature Collection, Northern Illinois University (1840-1940): See Library Guide.

Browne Popular Culture Library, Bowling Green State Library: More than 190,000 cataloged books.

Canadian Pulp Art and Fiction Collection, Library and Archives Canada (1940-1952): see also on Flickr.

Pulp Fiction at the Library of Congress: Includes a link to pulps transferred to microform.

​Russel B. Nye Popular Culture Collection, Michigan State University Libraries: Over 300,000 items.

Cartoon/ Comic Books

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum: The Ohio State University. The scope of the collection includes editorial cartoons (450,000 original cartoons), comic strips clippings and newspaper pages (2.5 million), comic books (61,000 titles), graphic novels, and 3,000 linear feet of manuscript materials.

The British Cartoon Archive: University of Kent. Preserves the history of British cartooning, covering more than 150,000 editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.

Comic Strips: Collection contains original comic strip drawings of 26 artists (1930–1937); Special Collections Comic Book Collection: Many topics represented, 1934–1969. Both collections at University of Arizona.

Zines

Bernard College Library, NY: About 4,000 issues.


Ailecia Ruscin zine collection, 1994-2002, Duke University: 552 zines (1994–2001), collected by the donor, focusing on personal zines by women, politics, the punk music scene, social justice activism, and riot grrrl

Anthony Boucher Fanzine Collection, University of Arizona: Science fiction literature, fandom, fantasy, comics, the horror genre, and general topics.

Bingham Center Zine Collections, Duke University: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.

The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy, UC at Riverside: About 100,000 fanzines.

Harvard Univeristy Magazines and Zines Collection

Havelin Fanzines Collection, University of Iowa Libraries: 10,000 fanzines, 1930s–1950s. Finding aids available.

M. Horvat Collection of Science Fiction Fanzines, University of Iowa (19252002): About 15,00020,000 items; chronicling "the evolution, growth and development of science fiction fandom from its early organization in the 1920s through the various iterations of fandom that occurred over the subsequent decades."

Paskow Science Fiction Collection, Temple University Libraries: Includes the Enterprising Women Fan Fiction Collection (EWFFC), fanzines, underground, and circuit literature written, designed, produced and distributed by female fans of science fiction media teleplays, actors, and characters.

Prelinger Library: A zine collection of about 10,000 items, not fully processed. Prelinger Library is an independent research library in San Francisco. 

Susan Smith-Clarke Fanzine Collection, National Library of Australia.

University of Connecticut Libraries Fanizne Collection: 19451985 American and West European fanizes

University of Kansas: A big zine collection, based on acquisition of the Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library.

University of Texas: Includes links to additional zine collections in Texas.

The Walter Coslet collection, University of Maryland-Baltimore County: Over 15,000 fanzines (19371972), searchable in a dedicated catalog.

Library Collections , Arranged by Subject

Science and Speculative Fiction

The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy: Over 300,000 items, including archives of authors' papers, 50,000 SF-related comic books, several fanzine collections, SF scripts, multimedia collections, fan conventions, newsletters, ephemera and collectibles. University of California at Riverside.

George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection: Dr. George Kelley donated the collection to Lockwood Library in 1994. Currently the collection is housed in Special Collections at the State University of New York at Buffalo. 25,000+ pulp fiction books and magazines.

Paskow Science Fiction Collection: Temple University. An extensive fanzines collection, including the Enterprising Women Fan Fiction Collection (EWFFC). Also available are pulp and slick magazines, posters, paintings, drawing, and related ephemera.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection: Cushing Library, Texas A&M University.

Science Fiction Hub: University of Liverpool; Europe's largest cataloged collection of Science Fiction materials: over 35,000 books and 2,500 periodical titles.

William J. Heron Collection of Speculative Fiction: Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. About 4,900 magazines and reference books, about 11,000 paperback books.


Women and Gender Studies

Harlequin Romance Collection of Treva M. Taylor: New York University.

Medical Romance Collection: Schlesinger Library, Harvard University.

Nurse Romance Collection: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries; more than 4oo novels that have nurses as central characters.

Paskow Science Fiction Collection: Temple University. An extensive fanzines collection, including the Enterprising Women Fan Fiction Collection (EWFFC). Also available are pulp and slick magazines, posters, paintings, drawing, and related ephemera.

Women Mystery Writers Collection: University of Arizona; More than 1,400 volumes of titles; the focus is Southwestern female authors who portray female protagonists (1950-). Includes manuscripts (such as  the papers of J.A. Jance).


LGBT

The Fales Collection of Gay and Lesbian Pulp Fiction, 1955-1988: New York University. "The collection includes the works of several prominent gay and lesbian writers." Also, Harlequin Romance Collection of Treva M. Taylor.

Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection: Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University.

Queer Pulp Collection: Pride Library, Western University, Canada.


Music

Archives of African American Music and Culture: Indiana University. Primary and secondary source materials, some pertain to popular culture studies.

The Center for Popular Music: Middle Tennessee State University. This center collects in the areas of rock music and its roots, vernacular religious music, and the music of Southeast, particularly in Tennessee.

The Cornell Hip Hop Collection: Party and event flyers, early vinyl recordings, cassettes and CDs; film and video; record label press packets and publicity; black books, photographs, magazines, books, clothing, and more.

DC Punk Archive: D.C Public Library collection documents the history and culture of local D.C.

The Diaz-Ayala Cuban and Latin American Popular Music Collection: Florida International University. About 100,000 items, of which 95% is Latin American music.

The Massachusetts Hip-Hop ArchiveThe Lecco’s Lemma Collection is part of the Massachusetts Hip-Hop Archive at UMass Boston and consists of artist demo tapes and broadcasts from the Lecco’s Lemma radio show, a rap music show that was founded by Magnus Johnstone and ran from 1985 to 1989 on local college radio stations WMBR (88.1 FM) and WZBC (90.3 FM). 

Popular Music and Culture Collection: Georgia State University. Covers early country, bluegrass and Southern gospel music in Atlanta, radio broadcasting in Atlanta, published sheet music, Tune-Dex cards, and arrangements by American songwriters.

DJ Screw Papers, 1975-2006: University of Houston Libraries.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress: Provides information about the Library's collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Includes online presentations, articles and biographical essays, finding aids to collections, and databases for performing arts resources.


Food

What's on the Mneu?: The New York Public Library’s menu collection, housed in the Rare Book Division, originated through the energetic efforts of Miss Frank E. Buttolph (1850-1924), who, in 1900, began to collect menus on the Library's behalf.

Menus: the Art of Dining: The majority of menus selected for this digital project came from the Bohn-Bettoni Collection, which consists of approximately 2000 restaurant menus (1870-1930). University of Nevada Las Vegas.


The Cold War

The Kiss Kiss Kill Kill Archive: Preserving spy cinema artifacts from the Cold War era, including posters, still images, DVDs, 16mm films, a music library, and Cold War games. Site pages provide online access to a poster gallery, Cold War games, and Spy Films reviews. Eu 


Dime Novels

Dime Novels Full Text: Stanford University's 8,000+ individual items, including long runs of the major dime novel series.

Albert Johannsen Dime Novel: Northern Illinois University.

American Antiquarian Society: Access the catalog through this Women and the World of Dime Novels exhibit. 

Dime Novels Collection: Brandeis University.

Pulp Fiction at the Library of Congress: Includes a link to pulps transferred to microform.

The Texas Collection, Baylor University: Specific areas of collection development include Texas popular literature as depicted in Dime Novels, pulp literature, western stories and modern fiction.


Specific Cultures

Archives of African American Music and Culture: Indiana University. Primary and secondary source materials, some pertain to popular culture studies.

The Diaz-Ayala Cuban and Latin American Popular Music Collection: Florida International University. About 100,000 items, of which 95% is Latin American music.

The Pulp Fiction Collection: University of Otago, New Zealnad. About 900 Australian pulp fiction publications.

Chinese Comic Books: Stanford University Libraries. About 300 comic books, published mostly after 1949 and during the Cultural Revolution (1950s-1970s). "The content and artistic presentations of the comic books during this historical period are popular topics for the study of modern Chinese history, Communist propaganda, and the relationships between politics, art, and education."

Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection, Princeton University Library: Materials from Egypt, Lebanon, and Syria, 1935–2007. 

Dream Factory on the Nile: Posters and Memorabilia from the Golden Age of Egyptian Film: An exhibit from the Stanford University Libraries collection of over 2,000 posters.

Hours and Locations