REL 394: Religion and Sports: Get Started
Reference Databases
Search across dozens of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographical sources in any of these platforms. For SPECIFIC religious traditions or topics, consult the Religious Studies library guide.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Stand-Alone Encyclopedias
Understanding Religion and Popular Culture: Theories, Themes, Products and Practices / edited by Terry Ray Clark and Dan W. Clanton, Jr. Abingdon, Oxon; New York: Routledge, 2012.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture / with an introduction by Jim Cullen; editors, Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast. Detroit, Mich.: St. James Press, 2000.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology: H. James Birx, editor. Sage, 2006.
PA Handbook of Psychology, Religion, and Spirituality: Editor, Kenneth I. Pargament. Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association, 2013-
Digital Religion: Understanding Religious Practice in New Media Worlds
Topical Guides
Wabash Internet Guide to Religion: "A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching." The Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion.
Methodology
The Routledge Companion to the Study of Religion, 2010 (2nd Edition): A major information resource for methodological approaches to religion, and spesific issues such as gender, science, fundamentalism, ritual, and new religious movements.
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion (2011): The first comprehensive survey in English of researcdh methods in the field. Edited by Michael Stausberg and Steven Engler. Abingdon, Oxon; New York: Routledge, 2011.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
