Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Religious Studies

Library resources for Religious Studies

Religious Studies and Related Databases

ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS: A comprehensive database that includes articles from hundreds of journals and magazines  and covers such topics as world religions, Biblical Studies, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes articles, essays, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. 

Philosopher's Index: A comprehensive citation-based database, covering journal articles, books, encyclopedias, anthologies, and book reviews.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online: A comprehensive, multilingual database, covering journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by scholars. The content is arranged by topics in a structured bibliography. The database is maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center.

PAIS Index For research on the intersection of religion and politics.

PsycINFO: Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, as well as religion.


Specific Religious Traditions

Bibliography of Native North Americans (1500+): Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

Digital South Asia Library: Reference works, images, maps, statistics, and other materials on South Asia. This is a part of Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and the University of Chicago.

Index Islamicus (1906+): Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world published in journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. 

International Medieval Bibliography Online: Indexes a verity of material, including journal articles,that covers all aspects of medieval life in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

JSTOR Jewish Studies Archive Collection (Full-Text, 1889+): Covers scholarly articled published in English, German, French, Dutch, Italian, and Hebrew. 

Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988+): Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Covers Jewish history, activity and thought. Some full-text.

Jewish Studies Source (EBSCO; full-text): Covers several hundred full-text journals, monographs, and newspapers, as well as biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): Covers a wide range of academic disciplines. 

JSTOR: Full-text access from back issues of peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.  

Periodicals Archive Online: Thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, 1700–1995.

Project Muse - Premium Collection: Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from university presses, non-profit publishers, and scholarly societies

ProQuest: A collection of databases that covers journal articles, eBooks, and newspapers. The search engine allows users to search a single database, a grouping of databases, or a single database.

Wiley Online Library: Full-text access to journals and reference sources in a range of disciplines.

Web of Knowledge: A research platform that includes a number of databases, including Web of Science (including Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index), Journal Citation Reports, and more.

Hours and Locations