Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Religious Studies

Library resources for Religious Studies

General Encyclopedias

Search across dozens of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographical sources in any of these platforms. For SPECIFIC religious traditions or topics, check out the other tabs.

Cambridge Companions to Religion: Not exactly a database but rather a book series with titles dedicated to religious traditions, movements, phenomena, or personalities, e.g. Miracles, Feminist Theology, C.S. Lewis, Gandhi, Puritanism. 37 titles in all.

Cambridge Histories Online: Cambridge History of the Bible, New Cambridge History of the Bible, Cambridge History of Christianity, Cambridge History of Islam, New Cambridge History of Islam, Cambridge History of Judaism, Cambridge History of Religions in America.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: A multi-disciplinary collection of reference works, including African American Religious Cultures (2009), Contemporary American Religion (2000), Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007), Encyclopedia of American Religions (2003), Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2004), Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2004), Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2006), Encyclopedia of Religion (2005), Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2003), Hispanic American Religious Cultures (2009), New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003) and Supplements (2009, 2010), New Encyclopedia Supplement, Jubilee Volume: The Wojtyla Years (2001), Religious Myths and Visions of America: How Minority Faiths Redefined America's World Role (2009), Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (2006).

Credo Reference Online:  A multi-disciplinary collection of reference works, 40+ of which are about religion.  

Sage Knowledge: Social Sciences focused reference works, such as Encyclopedia of Anthropology, Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience, Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, and Culture:

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion: 26 handbooks, including Biblical Studies, Early Christian Studies, English Literature and Theology, Eschatology, Feminist Theology, Global Religions, Jewish Studies, New Religious, Philosophical Theology, Religion and Emotion, Religion and Science, Systematic Theology, The Sociology of Religion, Theological Ethics. Check the box “Provided by library” filter on the left to limit your search to ASU’s full-text subscription content.

Oxford Reference Online: The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (Third Revised Edition), The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation.

Research Methods

The Routledge Companion to the Study of Religion, 2010 (2nd Edition): A major information resource for methodological approaches to religion, and specific issues such as gender, science, fundamentalism, ritual, and new religious movements.

The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion (2011): The first comprehensive survey in English of research methods in the field. 

For guidance on writing essays and research papers about religion, here is a link to the Subject Heading Religious literature -- Authorship in the Library Catalog.  All titles are print copies.  

Specific Religious Traditions

Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Confucianism Islam Christianity
    Cambridge History of Christianity (9 volumes). 
Encyclopedia of Buddhism, 2007. New Cambridge History of Islam  
Encyclopedia of Buddhism2004. Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2004. The Routledge Companion to the Christian Church, 2008.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism, 2004. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, 2012. Who's Who In Christianity, 1998.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism Online The Cambridge companion to American Islam Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
 
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American history, 2010. Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies
Fifty Eastern Thinkers, 2004. Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion, 2008. Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought, 2010.
  Cambridge Companion to Sufism, 2015.

New Catholic Encyclopedia, c2003: Includes the following supplements: 

  The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia, 2006.  

The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, 1997.

     
    The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity, 2011.
    The Encyclopedia of Protestantism, 2004.
    The Reformation World, 2000.
   

Mormonism: A Historical Encyclopedia, 2010.

Encyclopedia of Mormonism, 1992:  Two print copies available.

    Europa Sacra, 2004.
   

 

 

Other Traditions:

Popular Dictionary of Paganism, 2013.   

Encyclopedia of African Religion, 2009. 

African Religions: A Very Short Introduction, 2014.

Ethics

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Covers Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Donald M. Borchert, editor in chief. Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Each entry in this dynamic reference work is authored and updated by an expert or group of experts in their field; maintained by Stanford University.

Routledge Companion to Ethics. Edited by John Skorupski. London: Routledge, 2010. 

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society

Encyclopedia of Bioethics

An Encyclopedia of War and Ethics

Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare

Hours and Locations