Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Religious Studies

Library resources for Religious Studies

ASU Library Collections

Eighteenth Century Collections Online:  Contains text and indexing for every significant publication printed in England between 1700 and 1800.  Includes many American publications.  

Nineteenth Century Collection Online:  Full-text access to a wealth of books, articles, and documents of all kinds from the Nineteenth Century. 

Nineteenth Century Masterfile: An accumulative index to nineteenth century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents. 

Center for Research Libraries: Religion and Philosophy: ASU Library is a CRL member and you can borrow materials from its collection, which includes many missionary documents, early printed books on religion from colonial Spanish America, and documents from several Christian denominations.

Church Missionary Society Periodicals (Module 1): Publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society, 1804-2009.

Empire Online: Images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. 

HathiTrust Digital Library: Digitized materials from major research institutions and libraries. 

Parker Library on the Web: Manuscripts from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. The database includes images, bibliographic information, and transcriptions of manuscripts in Old and Middle English, French, Latin, Greek, and Arabic.

Past MastersA large collection of primary documents in the humanities, particularly but not exclusively philosophy. The texts are definitive editions of the complete works of many seminal figures in the history of thought, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence ranging from ancient Greece to the late 19th century.

Africa

African History and Culture, 1540-1921: A comprehensive collection of books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera covering the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. The Library Company of Philadelphia.

Archives of the Church of Uganda Online: Documents from the Church of the Province of Uganda (English and Bantu languages). The collection covers the period from the arrival of the first Church Missionary Society missionaries at King Mutesa's court (1877) to the early 1980s.

Digital South Asia Library: A collaborative digitization project that covers research resources on South Asia.

South Asian Oral History Project: A project of the University of Washington Libraries. The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history.

The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA): A volunteer-run not-for-profit organization that documents, preserves and provides access to the history of the South Asian American community.

Digital Library and Museum of Buddhist Studies:

The International Dunhuang Project - The Silk Road Online: Manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.

Online Chinese Christian Collection: Includes material in Chinese and other languages; made available as open access thanks to a collaboration of Globethics.net, Geneva, and Kingdom Business College, Beijing, China.

Southeast Asia Digital Library: Search by country, item format, language, or participating institute; a project of the Northern Illinois University Libraries.

Tibetan e-Text Repository: The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC).

Archive of Americana: Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials that explore more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life.

Catholic Research Resources: A nonprofit network that provides access to Catholic research newspapers and "rare, unique and uncommon research materials which are held by libraries and archives in North America". 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922; find information abour American newspapers published between 1690-present. The project is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Early American Newspapers (Series 1, 1690–1876): Full-text of issues from hundreds of historical American newspapers, based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690–1820.” The database is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections held by ASU Library.

Early English Books Online: From the first book published in English through the 17th Century, 1475-1700.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): More than 150,000 digitized books from the 18th Century, covering the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. 

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750: Citations to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 (EBSCO Publishing / John Carter Brown Library). No full-text access.

Documenting the American South: A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Making of America (1800-1925 ): Full text of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Particularly strong in the subjects of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Nation Wide Church Directory: Search by denomination or address/ zip code. 

Southern Manuscripts Sermons before 1800: A Bibliographic Database: Search engine for Michael Lofaro's book by this title, by Newfound Press and University of Tennessee Libraries  

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: Includes 52 document projects (1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites); A dictionary of social movements and organizations; A chronology of U.S. Women's History; Teaching Tools with lesson ideas; A bibliography of Women and Social Movements.

Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR): A guide for Open Access journals and digitized collections put together by librarians Charles Jones and Peter Magierski.

Acta Sanctorum (1642): A principal source of research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe. Includes materials on the lives of the saints in critical editions with commentaries on the source documents. 

Analecta hymnica medii aevi digitalia (500-1400): Contains Latin texts of hymns of the Catholic Church.

The Catholic Pamphlets Collection: Include a wide selection of documents from the 19th Centuray and on. University of Notre Dame.

Cornell University Library Witchcraft Collection:


The Dead Sea Scrolls:

The Dead Sea Scrolls and Other Hebrew MSS Project: Offered by the Oriental Institute, a research organization and museum at the University of Chicago.

The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls: Five scrolls from the Israel Museum - the Great Isaiah Scroll, the Community Rule Scroll, the Commentary on Habakkuk Scroll, the Temple Scroll, and the War Scroll.

The Leon Levi Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library: Over 930 manuscripts, comprising thousands of fragments from the Dead Sea Scrolls. A project of the Israel Antiquities Authority and Google. Browse by Site, Language, or Content.

 

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts (1500-1700): The database includes over a thousand primary works that represent the theological thought of Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Presbyterian, Baptist, and Anabaptist traditions. The genres represented include biblical commentaries, catechisms, treatises, liturgical works, pastoral writings, sermons, church histories, confessional documents, disputations, and personal letters, as well as philosophical, social, and political writings. The database covers topics such as Church authority, free will, justification, prayer and meditation, purgatory, the Arts, attitudes towards Jews, education & learning, religious freedom, and the religious and social role of women.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (1500-1700): The database includes primary works that represent the theological thought that predated and followed the Roman Catholic Church’s Council of Trent, resulting in Catholic reform. The genres represented include papal documents, synodal decrees, catechisms, confessors’ manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, liturgical works, inquisitorial manuals, preaching guides, saints’ lives, letters, and devotional literature, as well as philosophical, social, and political writings. The works are presented in their original languages of Latin, English, French, Italian, Spanish, and German. The database covers topics such as Church authority, free will, justification, prayer and meditation, purgatory, the Arts, attitudes towards Jews, education and learning, religious freedom, and the religious and social role of women.

Europeana: Images, texts, sound and video files from museums, archives, and libraries across Europe.

The Gnosis Archive: Collection of primary texts, lectures and citations for the study of Gnosticism.

Online Chinese Christian Collection: Includes material in Chinese and other languages; made available as open access thanks to a collaboration of Globethics.net, Geneva, and Kingdom Business College, Beijing, China.

Papal Encyclicals: Official pronouncements from Popes throughout history.

Patrolina Latina(200-1216): Jacques-Paul Migne's work; contains works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus & indexes, Migne's column numbers, & references.

Muslim, Christian, and Jewish Relations in the Middle East: "This forum aims to promote the humanistic study of urban religious cultures in the Middle East and North Africa during the Islamic era, i.e., in the period following the rise of Islam in the seventh century. It seeks to draw the attention of researchers to useful resources, and particularly to printed books, manuscripts, and images in the library collections of the University of Pennsylvania."

Loading

Hours and Locations