Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Religion and Conflict

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Contemporary American Religion (2000); Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed. (2007); Encyclopedia of American Religions, 7th ed. (2003); Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2004); Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2004); Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed. (2006); Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (2005); Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2003); New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. (2003); New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement, Jubilee Volume (2001); Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (2006); Extremist groups: information for students (2006).

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion: Latest research and thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students. (The Oxford Handbook of Religion and American Politics, 2009)

Political Reference Suite: Resources on a wide array of topics largely pertaining to U.S. political, judicial, governmental, historical, and policy research interests. Note the section POLITICAL HANDBOOK OF THE WORLD.

Oxford Digital Reference Shelf: Historical overviews of many Western cultures and civilizations, including Ancient Egypt, the Dead Sea Scrolls, Ancient Greece and Rome, the Christian Church, Byzantium, the Enlightenment, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Reformation, the Modern World, Mesoamerican Cultures, African American history, Latinos and Latinas in the US, and Women in World History.

Cambridge Histories Online: Online access to Cambridge History of the Bible, History of Christianity, History of Islam, and History of Judaism.

Topical Guides

Religion and Politics/ Religion and Violence

Religion and Violence: an encyclopedia of faith and conflict from antiquity to the present 

Routledge Handbook of Religion and Politics

Routledge Handbook of Ethnic Conflict

The Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion

Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism

Encyclopedia of Religion and War

Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict


Methodology


 

Hate Symbols Database: Reviews symbols used by white supremacist groups or other types of hate groups - however, depending on the context, not all uses of these symbols are offensive.

Hours and Locations