Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


TEL 703/TEL 711

This guide supports TEL 703 Innovation in Teaching and Learning and TEL 711 Strategies for Inquiry

Library Search Engines

Library One Search  

                             Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

 

Google Scholar (via ASU)
Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The ASU Library subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. 

Books

Find most ASU Library books and e-books. To find books, click on Advanced SearchAll Items, scroll up and select Books.

Library One Search  

For information and help on finding e-books,, check out the Find E-Book page. This page not only has help about searching, it has direct links to specific e-book collections.

Finding Information Using Education & Education-Related Databases

Search these education databases to identify & locate peer-reviewed articles in the field of education and related fields.  Additional relevant databases can be found on the Education Library Guide under the tab "Article Databases".
 
 

ERIC (via Proquest) 
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Education Full  
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

PsycINFO  (via Proquest) 
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.

Google Scholar 
Contains scholarly article, books, book chapters, papers etc that can be searched similar to the way Google is searched.

Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences including education published by SAGE and participating societies.

LearnTechLib Digital Library
Valuable resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 
(1973+) Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.

 Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (1975+ )
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Indexes more than 8,200 journals (7,1000 are peer-reviewed) and directly supplies full-text articles for nearly 4,500 journals (including 3,700 peer-reviewed). This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Sage Research Methods Online
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects, and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines.

Advanced Research Databases

Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full-text (1979+ ) and citations to 
ASU students' doctoral dissertations (1954-1979) and masters theses.

Dissertations and Theses(1861+ )
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited 
North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions

Ulrich's Periodical Directory(1979+ )
Provides title-specific information for currently published journals, magazines and newspapers. Indicates whether a journal ispeer reviewed (refereed).

WorldCat (1200+ )
Indexes books, dissertations, government documents, multimedia and various other materials. This index will tell you which library owns particular items all around the world.

Hours and Locations