KIN 101: Introduction to Kinesiology
Need more help?
Top Research Databases
- PubmedPrimary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Includes articles from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.
- CINAHLPrimary database of nursing and allied health information.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane library provides access to evidence based research including cochrane systematic reviews and clincial trials. It also provides information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support health care decisions.
- PsycInfoFind articles and information related to the topic of psychology, behavioral health, and related fields.
Is Your Article Peer Reviewed?
Find out if an article was published in a journal that uses peer-review:
- Go to Ulrichs Web - a Research Database with information about journals and other publications
- Search for the journal title that your article was published in (for example: BMC Medicine)
- Look for this image next to the journal title:
- This image indicates that the journal is 'Refereed,' another term that means 'Peer-Reviewed.'
Example topics for searching practice
Can resistance training improve bone mineral density in post-menopausal women?
Can yoga or massage improve lower back pain in elderly patients?
Can anatomical differences between males and females account for the observed difference in ACL injuries?
Does the grasping movement differ between Parkinson's and non-Parkinson's patients?
Can exercise improve glucose metabolism?
Get to know 2 research databases for Health Sciences research
View the 2 videos below to see examples of keyword searching in 2 major Health Sciences research databases: PubMed and CINAHL.
In each video, Look for:
- How do you use keywords to search each database?
- How can you use synonyms to expand your first keyword search?
- How can you limit your search results using categories like: publication date, gender, or article type?
- How can you get to full text of an article showing in your search results?
PubMed Keyword searching via YouTube: http://youtu.be/GcOPnx0d0xY
CINAHL Keyword searching via YouTube: http://youtu.be/Ad_Q5vYYg_4
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
