Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Starting Points

Academic Search Premier

Google Scholar

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Library One Search

Need Help?

ASU Library Website

Library Guides

Ask a Librarian

Report a Technical Problem

Legend

New
Newly acquired database
Trial
Database in trial status
Best Bet
Recommended database for subject
Database outage or alert
Open Access database
Database Conditions of Use

Loading...

Alerts

 

 

​Lexis Nexis State Capital

This resource is currently unavailable due to a name and platform change. We are working with the vendor to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

 

Ebook Central

ProQuest will be performing maintenance on Ebook Central platform on Saturday, October 19 from 12:00pm to 3:00pm EDT. The database will not be accessible during this time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

 

Ebook Central

Please Note: Users who get the "Error: Request Entity Too Large: head" when trying to access Ebook Central titles, please try clearing your cache. For more information about clearing your cache, see our FAQ on Clearing Cache.

Also, in order to assist with troubleshooting this issue, we are asking users who receive this error to generate a HAR file to provide us with more information. Here are directions on generating a HAR file. After generating the file, please send it to us through our technical support system. We appreciate your assistance.

 

LearnTechLib

Please Note: Renewal for this resource is delayed. We are working with a provider to resolve this issue. Sorry for the inconvenience.
 

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
It is a unique database for those interested in the History of Culture. It is a single access point for thematic searches across a wide variety of cultural heritage collections, contributed by partners like the Dutch Rijksmuseum, the Netherlands Institute for Art History, the Herzog August Bibliothek, and the university libraries of Milan, Utrecht, Glasgow, and Illinois.
New
The Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition presents all of the Bayeux Tapestry in a scrolling format and includes scholarly annotations keyed to relevant sections.
New
British Periodicals Collections I-IV (from ProQuest) provides facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through the twentieth. The equivalent of more than 6 million pages from nearly 500 popular periodicals. Subject areas emphasized include archaeology, architecture, art, drama, fine arts, history, literature, music, philosophy, science and social sciences.
New
This bibliographical index database provides full text search capability to more than 600 million volumes of e-books and other materials including dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. The first 17 pages of each e-book are available for preview. Document delivery is also available.
New
Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.
New
Coverage:2015+
Provides access to the index which includes peer-reviewed publications of regional importance and in emerging scientific fields.
New
experts.asu.edu is Arizona State University's expertise profiling system. The system uses the scholarly works of our tenured and tenure-track faculty as well as those of selected research faculty and staff to identify, catalog and make searchable the competencies and capabilities that exists across the university. University experts can be identified by searching research units, scientific terms and concepts, as well as full text taken from requests for proposals (RFP), funding opportunity announcements (FOAs), news and journal articles, patents descriptions, business plans, etc. experts.asu is made possible through generous support from the Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR) and the Arizona Commerce Authority (ACA). Questions and concerns can be emailed to experts@asu.edu using the contact link at the bottom of this page.
New
Renowned as one of Russia's premier journals of cinema, Iskusstvo kino offers more than Russian and foreign movie reviews, articles on filmmaking and cinema culture, criticism, and essays. Iskusstvo kino traces Russian arts and culture from the 'socialist realism' era through contemporary filmmaking
New
The Ecology & Botany Collection II includes approximately 80 journals in the areas of biological and plant sciences. The collection includes coverage from key institutions, such as the California Botanical Society; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; Naturhistorisches Museum; Società Italiana di Patologia Vegetale, Ecological Society of America, and International Association for Plant Taxonomy.
Trial
Note: This is a trial resource until July 19, 2019.
This database includes Journal articles, think tank reports, and book chapters focused on violence and conflict in international relations, including: cyber security, foreign policy, human security, intelligence & espionage, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and political violence & terrorism.
New
Description: It includes a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
New
An e-book collection of leading authors from around the Arab world. Includes over 11,000 titles. Classified by 27 genres and subject areas. Searchable by author, title, subject and/or keywords.
New
Krasnyi arkhiv was a scholarly historical journal published in Moscow in 1922-1941. Published important archival materials on the history of Tsarist Russia and the early years of the Soviet Union. The Krasnyi Arkhiv. Digital Archive contains the entire collection (106 volumes, 1,010 articles, more than 23,000 pages), completely digitized with full-image browsing and full-text article-level search and browse functions.
New
A valuable resource for a variety of disciplines, Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) combines sources from these databases: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database. Subjects include: Arts and humanities Cultural heritage Economic affairs Business and industry Ethnic diversity and anthropology International relations Political affairs and law Archaeology Significant religious events Society and social welfare
New
A video collection of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. The visual examples prepare nurses to assess, diagnose, and manage health issues in patients.
New
A video collection for the educational and training purposes of nurses, nursing assistants, and other allied health workers. Topics covered include airway management, anatomy and physiology, anxiety disorders, basic clinical skills, cardiology, communications, nutrition, and more. The videos in the collection were created under the guidance of MedCom-Trainex, which is the world's largest producer of nursing education videos.
New
Coverage: 2013
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This Oxford handbooks collection contains titles including Asian Business Systems, Conflict Management in Organizations, Corporate Governance, Creative Industries, Gender in Organizations and Innovation Management.
New
A dynamic, peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia about literature in its broadest sense. The essays range from broad interpretive ones to specialized entries.
New
This valuable resource contains hundreds of articles of interest to social work practitioners, scholars, and students. A wide variety of topics are included, along with biographies of key figures in social work history. This resource is updated monthly.
New
This is a powerful global funding opportunities and scholars database updated daily that allows users to receive results in a variety of ways.
Note: It requires to create an account using ASU email address. To get an account, go here and click on Sign Up in the upper right-hand corner. You’ll need to use a computer that has an ASU IP address so that Pivot knows you are affiliated with ASU in order to provide you with full access.
  • Open Access
New
The Planet Incubator Program (PIP) is a first-of-its-kind partnership between Planet Labs, Inc. and Arizona State University. Planet operates the largest constellation of CubeSat satellites currently in orbit. Planet's Dove and Rapid-Eye sensors collect multi-spectral imagery data with an unparalleled combination of temporal (daily) and spatial (3-5 meter) resolution. The combination of high spatial and temporal resolution satellite imagery data creates immense analysis, research, and development opportunities for ASU researchers at all levels.
Note: ASU user must initially sign-up using ASU email (asu.edu) address to access this resource. Please follow the following steps.
1. Click Planet Labs link above, and go to “Our Programs” tab—Planet Incubator Program—Sign-up Form
2. Once you complete the online form, you will receive an email inviting you to create an account.
3. Once the process is completed, access will be available to this resource.
New Trial
Note: This is a trial resource until 11/29/ 2019.
This database provides legislative and regulatory insights (including appropriations, defense, energy and more), data tools and other resources for governmental policy research.
  • Open Access
New
The Retraction Watch Database is the largest and most comprehensive source for finding article retractions, notices of concern, etc. It includes more than 18,000 retracted papers and conference abstracts dating back to the 1970s.
New
These 480+ streaming videos cover every aspect of the research process and hundreds of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods.
New
Note: To access this resource, first you need to register using the Arizona State University email address, and you must be on the ASU network to set-up your account. SciVal is authenticated using the institutions IP ranges. Once account is created, you can log in remotely via ASU VPN.
SciVal allows users to visualize and benchmark institutional research performance, identify and develop collaborative partnerships, and analyze research trends.
  • Open Access
New
It includes fully downloadable PDF versions of open access books in a wide range of areas within Computer Science, Technology and Medicine.
New
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions.
New
Times Higher Education (THE), formerly The Times Higher Education Supplement (THES), is a weekly magazine based in London, reporting on news and issues related to higher education around the world.

Note:
Registering as a first time user:
For anywhere, anytime access to the Times Higher Education, you first need to register using ASU email address. Please follow these instructions so that your personal THE account is associated with the University’s institutional subscription.

1. From the Times Higher Education website click on the user account icon, i.e. the red person icon towards the top right
2. Register using your Arizona State University email address @asu.edu (your username will appear in public facing parts of the site such as comments on articles)
3. Choose a user name and password
4. Click on Join us at the bottom and you will be logged in
5. You will receive a confirmation email

Once you have successfully registered your personal account, just click on Login the next time you use the service.

Access digital editions
1. To access digital editions of THE, go to the homepage
2. Click the “Professional” tab, then click “Digital Editions”.
3. Then simply select the issue you want to view.

Download the app
1. The Times Higher Education app is available on iOS, Android and Kindle Fire. Visit your app store provider to download it to your device.
2. Select the edition you would like to view, e.g. UK or Global
3. Log in by clicking on the icon in the top right corner
4. Select Account, then click “Existing THE account”
5.Enter your username and password
  • Open Access
New
The Unified Astronomy Thesaurus (UAT) is an open, interoperable and community-supported thesaurus which unifies the existing divergent and isolated Astronomy & Astrophysics thesauri into a single high-quality, freely-available open thesaurus formalizing astronomical concepts and their inter-relationships. The UAT builds upon the existing IAU Thesaurus with major contributions from the Astronomy portions of the thesauri developed by the Institute of Physics Publishing and the American Institute of Physics."
New
Coverage: WSJ.com archives go back four years and are on a rolling basis.
National daily newspaper that provides access to news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts.

Note: ASU users (Students, faculty and staff) must initially register logging into school portal, and creating an account on the registration page to access Wall Street Journal (WSJ) by following these steps. Once activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location.
1. Go to the WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
2. Enter first and last name
3. Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
4. Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
5. Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
6. Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/

NOTE: Student members accounts stay active until their graduation dates. Faculty and staff need to validate their memberships once a year from the ASU URL: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
If you already have a personal paid subscription, please call at 1-800JOURNAL or email support@wsj.com to cancel it and sign up for an account through the library.
Loading...
Loading...

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for ASU students, faculty, staff and library users only. ASU is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.

You must:

  • Use the resources for personal, educational or research purposes only
  • Check the provider's website for permitted uses and restrictions
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distribution and alteration

You must not:

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Distribute these resources beyond ASU faculty, students and staff
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of the resources
Can’t find your subject? See subject mappings.
title
Loading...

Hours and Locations