Please Note: The Stalin Digital Archive will be undergoing site
maintenance this Friday, January 19, 2018 from 8am - 12pm EST. During this time, access to the database at http://www.stalindigitalarchive.com
may be temporarily unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and thank you for your patience.
Please Note: PLEASE NOTE: The issue regarding "requiring reCAPTCHA verification" notices while attempting to access content in JSTOR resources is currently under investigation. We hope to have this resolved as quickly as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Coverage: Works published through 2016 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited Cambridge Histories Online provides full text online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. (Current coverage includes works published through 2016). It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. This resource is particularly useful for providing in-depth historical context. It is also a great resource for online history students.
Access Information: This is a trial database. Access is active until 8th Feb. 2018.
Colonial America includes Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Coverage: 1690-1876 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
Alternate titles: America’s Historical Newspapers-Early American Newspapers Series I
This database currently includes 10,000 titles in 12,500 editions from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period. All texts are provided in full text and image format, allowing for a direct comparison both between digitized text and original text image, and in some cases between different editions of the text
Coverage: 1929-2016 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited For those studying Russian, Russian literature, and comparative literature, Literaturnaia gazeta is an important resource for Russian culture and intellectual life: its pages carry literary criticism; excerpts from works of literature; articles on economics, sociology, ethics, daily life, and scientific progress.
This database offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
It provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of the most important disciplines, fields, and subject areas, among them popular music, opera, instruments, blues, gospel, recorded sound, and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages--English, German, French, Italian, Dutch, and Greek.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Access Information: Please note: This is a trial database. Access is active through January 2018.
Coverage: 1849 - 1913 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Woman's Suffrage Collection, 1849 - 1913, consists of six newspapers for women including, the Lily, 1849 - 1856, which was the first U.S. newspaper for women. Other women's newspapers in the collection include The Revolution, 1868 - 1872; National Citizen and Ballot Box, 1878- 1881; The Remonstrance, 1890 - 1913; The New Citizen, 1909 - 1912; and the Western Women Voter, 1911 - 1913. With only a gap of twelve years, this important collection essentially covers the length and the breath of the Woman's Suffrage movement in the United States.
Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for ASU students, faculty, staff and library users only. ASU is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.
Use the resources for personal, educational or research purposes only
Check the provider's website for permitted uses and restrictions
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distribution and alteration
You must not:
Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Distribute these resources beyond ASU faculty, students and staff
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of the resources