ProQuest Products Maintenance Downtime — Saturday, August 18, 2018
Please Note: To maintain the currency and security of ProQuest platforms, some products will be unavailable for approximately five hours beginning Saturday, August 18, 2018 at 12 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. These products are Ebook Central, Proquest platform, ProQuest Congressional, Chadwyck-Healy databases, Digital Sanborn Maps, and RefWorks. Sorry for the inconvenience!
Please Note: Access to this database is currently unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Alexander Street Press
Please Note: We are experiencing access issues with this resource, and working with the provider to restore our access. Sorry for the inconvenience.
RefWorks Discontinued June 30, 2019
Please Note: ASU Library’s institutional subscription to RefWorks will be discontinued on June 30, 2019. In addition, no new RefWorks accounts will be available after December 31, 2018. For more information about the RefWorks transition, please visit the RefWorks Transition page: https://lib.asu.edu/refworks-transition
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
It includes large collection of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Subjects include LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more.
Number of Users:Unlimited Users
A microbial genome web portal that combines thousands of genomes with additional information inferred by computer programs, imported from other databases and curated from the biomedical literature by biologist curators. Also provides an extensive range of query tools, visualization services and analysis software.
Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. In collaboration with an international board of scholars, materials were selected and organized around fundamental themes such as: Border Identities, Enforcement, and Disputes; Human Trafficking; and Undocumented Migration
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Searchable video collection related to the fields of counseling, psychology, and social work. Includes hours of training videos, therapy sessions, consultations with experts, reenactments, documentaries and more. Subject areas include addiction, coaching, family therapy, child therapy, domestic violence, family therapy, group therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, sex therapy, career counseling, child therapy, cognitive-behavioral therapy, among many other areas. Select videos are paired with downloadable teaching and discussion guides. Includes volume 1-5.
DBpia is a multidisciplinary full-text database of journal articles published by major Korean research institutions. There are over 1900 journal titles and more than 1.9 million articles included. Some resources are also available in English.
Digital National Security Archive unlocks a vast trove of important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. The digitized documents are made available in over 40 topic-based collections coverings such topics and areas as the Soviet Union; Mexico, Cuba and Latin America; Iran, Iraq and the Middle East; Nuclear history and policy; Henry Kissinger and US diplomacy; and Japan, Korea and The Vietnam War.
The revolution which overthrew the millennia-old imperial system heralded a period of turmoil in China which would last for the best part of forty years. Encapsulated by the rivalry between the Nationalist Chiang Kai-shek and the Communist Mao Zedong, the turmoil of warlordism, competing governments, civil wars and Japanese invasion ended only when the Communist Party emerged as masters of a reunified China in 1949. Throughout most of this period the major European powers, the United States and Japan maintained considerable political and economic interests in China, most notably in the foreign concessions in Shanghai and other ‘treaty ports’. The years following the communist revolution were to see upheavals of a similar magnitude, as the civil war was followed by the economic chaos and mass starvation of the Great Leap Forward, and then Mao’s efforts to return to prominence through the socio-political alterations of the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. Due to the long-unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.
Public Note: To download records, either on or off-campus, the Pro platform require a user to provide ASU email address at the time of download. The records are sent to this email address.
GuideStar Pro provides access to information on millions of nonprofit organizations. Users can search, compare, and analyze organizations, filtering by size, revenue, location, and other features.
When the Studies in Imperialism series was founded the emphasis was laid upon the conviction that ‘imperialism as a cultural phenomenon had as significant an effect on the dominant as on the subordinate societies’. With well over a hundred titles now published, this remains the prime concern of the series. Cross-disciplinary work has indeed appeared covering the full spectrum of cultural phenomena, as well as examining aspects of gender and sex, frontiers and law, science and the environment, language and literature, migration and patriotic societies, and much else.
Mendeley is a free reference manager, PDF organizer, and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover related research. ASU users can access the Mendeley Institutional Edition by using an asu.edu email address to create an account.
This resource is a collection of ecology-related subject modules. The bibliographic citations are based on recommendations by experts. The resources listed are tailored for the subject area. Each topic includes editorial commentary, which shows the interrelated nature of the resources. For each topic there is an article with an introduction written by a top scholar in the field and an authoritative guide to the current scholarship with original commentary and annotations by top scholars. Continuously updated with articles added throughout the year.
For each topic there is an article with an introduction written by a top scholar in the field and an authoritative guide to the current scholarship with original commentary and annotations by top scholars. Continuously updated with articles added throughout the year.
Coverage: 2017 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Oxford Handbooks Online : Law contains the following titles: American Sports Law, Citizenship, Corporate Law and Governance, Intellectual Property Law, International Organizations, Islamic Law, Law, Regulation and Technology, the Canadian Constitution, and the Indian Constitution. Oxford Handbooks Online in Law is an ambitious project that reflects, facilitates, and shapes the transformation of law into a multifaceted global discipline. Supplementing and enhancing Oxford Handbooks in book form, Oxford Handbooks Online seizes the unique opportunities for systemic interconnection and quick publication presented by online publication to capture the continuously evolving body of research on all aspects of law from the wide variety of methodological perspectives that are being brought to bear on law as a field of study.
Coverage: 2014-2016 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited users
Oxford Handbooks in Political Science bring together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in political science.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This primary source collection covers the far-right and fascist movement as well as radical left groups, allowing researchers to access and compare material from both sides. This resource contains the following sub-collections: American Radicalism Collection, The All-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda, The Searchlight Archives, and The National Archives in the UK.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title. Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. The pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains most published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
Public Note: This is a trial resource. The access will expire on the 8th September 2018. Access Note: Mobile users can download the 'Exactly' app on an iOS or Android device from the relevant app store, and instantly access the magazine.
The Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Magazine is a weekly leading paper in the world for literary culture.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). The entire archive of WWD, previously unavailable in digital form, opens up new opportunities for research. This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for students across the disciplines of fashion, business, and history.
Conditions of Use
Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for ASU students, faculty, staff and library users only. ASU is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.
Use the resources for personal, educational or research purposes only
Check the provider's website for permitted uses and restrictions
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distribution and alteration
You must not:
Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Distribute these resources beyond ASU faculty, students and staff
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of the resources