Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Research in SHPRS: Selected Library Resources

Intended for the use of graduate students in programs in the School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies. This guide covers resources appropriate for degree programs at the Masters and Doctoral levels as well as online and in situ programs.

Introduction: Selected Library Resources

Greetings:  While the Library Guides (LibGuides) I selected for you on the Home page cover a wide variety of Library resources available to ASU SHPRS graduate students,  they are not a comprehensive listing of library databases and services.  This page will highlight and annotate library resources and services of particular utility for graduate students, but is obviously not a comprehensive listing.

Library Services for Graduate Students

ASU Library ( Home Page):  The library is your partner....  The Arizona State University Library aspires to connect our users to the best information resources for their needs, whatever those may be, in whatever format, as swiftly and seamlessly as possible.

ASU Digital Repository    The ASU Digital Repository is home to scholarly, administrative and cultural heritage materials that support, engage and inspire the Arizona State University community. Scholarly papers, theses and audiovisual materials join university records, historical photographs and music performances in a broad and inclusive collection.

Borrowing Loan Policy New student library privileges begin on the first day of class. Continuing students who have preregistered for the upcoming semester have ongoing library privileges.

Graduate Student Writing Support  UASP's academic support for graduate students offers a dynamic, supportive learning environment and programs for ASU students enrolled in any graduate certificate or graduate degree program.

Interlibrary Loan  You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items from other libraries to support your learning, research, and teaching. Interlibrary Loan is a free service available for current ASU students, faculty, and staff.

Library 501: What Grad Students Need to Know about the Library  As a graduate student, you will work on many research-intensive projects and assignments. You'll need to find relevant information, and you'll want to do so as efficiently as possible. This orientation serves as an introduction to library services and resources

Monographic and Full Text Resources

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations:  This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

Cambridge Histories Online A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects. This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

eHRAF World Cultures: eHRAF World Cultures database is a collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. eHRAF is interdisciplinary and provides ethnographic research for anyone interested in specific data on a particular ethnic group, culture or country, and for researchers investigating topics like kinship, or settlement patterns on a comparative cross-cultural basis. The database is unique in that sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level, which allows precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

WorldCat:  Comprised of several hundred million bibliographic records from OCLC member libraries, WorldCat includes records representing hundreds of languages. The database is updated daily and includes records for books, dissertations, journals, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and video recordings. WorldCat allows researchers to identify publications, verify citations, and to locate materials at the Arizona Libraries and thousands of other U.S. and international libraries.

Resources for the Academic Literature

Anthropology Plus  Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

 ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS(ATLAS Full Text Plus 1949-) (1949+) American Theological Association Database covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations from journals, essays, and book reviews.

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (International Medieval Bibliography Online (1967+) Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide starting in 1967. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

 Historical Abstracts  Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for North America covering the time period from 1450 to the present,

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies.

 JSTOR Includes full text   Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

MLA International Bibliography  The MLA International Bibliography is the academic database of the Modern Language Association. Designed especially for institutions of higher learning, it indexes books and articles on language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, world literature, folklore, and the dramatic arts.

Philosophers Index  A comprehensive and international index of Philosophy journals and monographs. Coverage includes many interdisciplinary sources related to Philosophy.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online  A comprehensive, multilingual database for research in Philosophy, covering journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by scholars. The content is arranged by topics in a structured bibliography that covers all subjects related to Philosophy and different philosophical traditions, as well as philosophy of specific disciplines (Biology, Mathematics, Social Science, Religious Studies, Language, etc.). The database is maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center.

Sociological Abstracts  Very useful database particularly for social and ethnic history -- covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc. 

Women's Studies International, 1972+  Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

 

 

Hours and Locations