Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Month: Introduction

Library Guide accompanying the 2022 Hayden Library Women's History Month book display. Created by the Community-Driven Archives initiative team.

Introduction

In honor of March being Women's History Month, the Community-Driven Archives Initiative, with assistance from the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, has created a physical book display in Hayden Library (2nd floor) as well as a digital library guide accompanying the display.

We dedicate this Women's History Month book display and library guide to women around the world facing unique, ever-changing forms of patriarchy and antagonism in their daily lives. This collection was created to include voices from different groups of women, specifically focusing on texts that discuss womanhood and feminism in unique contexts across the world. Though we have included materials from LGBTQ, BIPOC, third world, disabled, and religious minority women, we recognize that no collection can be all-encompassing and encourage visitors to seek these materials as a jumping-off point to learn more about each respective topic.

While we may not necessarily agree with all of the views expressed by these content creators, we think it is crucial to share diverse stances on social issues to foster productive conversations and have different women speak for themselves in a way that they deem authentic in order to continue the fight for global women's rights. Our hope is that at least one of these materials is able to inspire strength, hope, and curiosity in our visitors.

We also encourage visitors to explore the Women’s HERstory Library Guide and Event Calendar for more information and the 2021 NEA Big Read Library Guide for Indigenous-specific resources.

Selected woman-focused publications

Feminist Giant
Featured article:
“When Football Goes Home” by Mona Eltahawy
https://www.feministgiant.com/p/essay-when-football-goes-home

 

Tasteful Rude
Featured article:
"Don’t Call Me Resilient" by Myriam Gurba
https://tastefulrude.com/dont-call-me-resilient/

 

Gay Mag
Featured article:
"Hysterical! The Body That Bleeds" by Samantha Irby
https://gay.medium.com/the-body-that-bleeds-ce3cbaa6903a

 

Ms. Magazine
Featured article:
“Women’s Rights Are Not Just ‘Western Values': A Warning Not to Learn the Wrong Lessons From Afghanistan" by Sima Samar
https://msmagazine.com/2021/09/22/womens-rights-western-values-afghanistan-feminism/ 

 

I Weigh
Featured article:
"Understanding My Destiny" by Karen Dutko
https://iweighcommunity.com/understanding-my-destiny/ 

Selected informational videos on women’s issues

Barbie Explains Feminist Theories | Radical, Liberal, Black, etc

Riot Grrrl: The '90s Movement that Redefined Punk

Tik Talk: Hair artist embraces Black beauty, self-love

Inuk woman shares the meaning behind her traditional tattoos

The price of shame | Monica Lewinsky (TED Talk)

Why we have too few women leaders | Sheryl Sandberg (TED Talk)

Selected current events and women’s issues

List of Taliban Policies Violating Women’s Rights in Afghanistan
https://www.hrw.org/news/2021/09/29/list-taliban-policies-violating-womens-rights-afghanistan
 
“We Have Had Abortions” Petition Relaunches 50 Years Later—With Support From Original Signatories

https://msmagazine.com/2022/01/20/we-have-had-abortions-petition-ms-magazine/ 
 
Activision Blizzard Sued Over ‘Frat Boy’ Culture, Harassment

https://news.bloomberglaw.com/daily-labor-report/activision-blizzard-sued-by-california-over-frat-boy-culture 
 
Meet Justice Ayesha Malik, Pakistan's first female Supreme Court judge

https://www.npr.org/2022/01/25/1075556977/ayesha-malik-pakistan-supreme-court
 
Michaela Jaé Rodriguez from 'Pose' is the 1st trans actress to win a Golden Globe

https://www.npr.org/2022/01/10/1071828269/michaela-jae-rodriguez-golden-globes-pose 
 
The South Korean Election’s Gender Conflict and the Future of Women Voters

https://www.cfr.org/blog/south-korean-elections-gender-conflict-and-future-women-voters
 
FGM victim urges others to seek help and support

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-birmingham-60085476
 
On Ukraine’s front lines, women endure the war alone

https://www.aljazeera.com/gallery/2022/2/6/photos-near-ukraines-front-lines-women-endure-the-war-alone
 

Navajo Nation’s leaders bring awareness to Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Relatives
https://www.nhonews.com/news/2022/feb/08/navajo-nations-leaders-bring-awareness-missing-and/
 
Mexican abortion advocates look to help women in U.S.

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/health/mexican-abortion-advocates-look-to-help-women-in-u-s 
 
China Moves to Overhaul Protections for Women’s Rights, Sort Of

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/02/world/asia/china-womens-rights.html
 
Women’s march in Bolivia against justice after the release of femicides and rapists

https://www.pressenza.com/2022/02/womens-march-in-bolivia-against-justice-after-the-release-of-femicides-and-rapists/ 

Playlist

Books on display

Everybody (Else) Is Perfect: How I Survived Hypocrisy, Beauty, Clicks, and Likes Gabrielle Korn
The Pearl That Broke Its Shell Nadia Hashimi
Embroideries Marjane Satrapi
Reading Lolita in Tehran Azar Nafisi
Reviving Ophelia Mary Pipher
Mean Myriam Gurba
A Woman Like Her: The Story Behind the Honor Killing of a Social Media Star Sanam Maher
It’s Not About the Burka Mariam Khan
My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness Kabi Nagata
This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color Cherríe Moraga and Gloria Anzaldúa
Borderlands/La Frontera: The New Mestiza Gloria Anzaldúa
Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories Sandra Cisneros
Headscarves and Hymens: Why the Middle East Needs a Sexual Revolution Mona Eltahawy
I’ll Scream Later Marlee Matlin
History vs Women: The Defiant Lives That They Don't Want You to Know

Anita Sarkeesian and Ebony Adams

Home Girls: A Black Feminist Anthology Barbara Smith
Sister Outsider Audre Lorde
Juliet Takes a Breath Gabby Rivera
All About Love: New Visions bell hooks
The Good Women of China Xue Xinran
So Long a Letter Mariama Bâ
Siren Song: Understanding Pakistan Through Its Women Singers Fawzia Afzal-Khan
Revenge of the She-Punks: A Feminist Music History from Poly Styrene to Pussy Riot Vivien Goldman
The Women's Movement against Sexual Harassment Carrie N. Baker
A Romani Women's Anthology: Spectrum of the Blue Water Hedina Tahirović-Sijerčić
Living Dolls: The Return of Sexism Natasha Walter
Quit Like a Woman: The Radical Choice to Not Drink in a Culture Obsessed with Alcohol Holly Whitaker
Scream from the Shadows: The Women’s Liberation Movement in Japan Setsu Shigematsu
Read & Riot: A Pussy Riot Guide to Activism Nadya Tolokonnikova
How We Survived Communism & Even Laughed Slavenka Drakulic
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body Roxane Gay
Don't Call Me Inspirational: A Disabled Feminist Talks Back Harilyn Rousso
Princesses Behaving Badly: Real Stories from History Without the Fairy-Tale Endings Linda Rodriguez McRobbie
Hood Feminism Mikki Kendall
Performing Sex: The Making and Unmaking of Women's Erotic Lives Breanne Fahs
Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower Brittney Cooper
Feminism for the 99%: A Manifesto Cinzia Arruzza, Tithi Bhattacharya, and Nancy Fraser
Play like a Feminist Shira Chess
Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists? Linda Nochlin
In Her Own Image: Women's Self-Representation in 20th Century Art Danielle Knafo
Pornography: Men Possessing Women Andrea Dworkin
Redefining Realness: My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More Janet Mock
Sultana's Dream Begum Rokeya
Pakistan for Women Maliha Abidi
The Favored Daughter: One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future Fawzia Koofi
Tomorrow Will Be Different Sarah McBride
I'm Afraid of Men Vivek Shraya
Our Wife and Other Stories Karen King-Aribisala
The Shadow King: A Novel Maaza Mengiste
The Sex Lives of African Women Nana Darkoa Sekyiamah
Mapping Dalit Feminism: Towards an Intersectional Standpoint Anandita Pan
Well-Behaved Indian Women Saumya Dave
Bingo Love Tee Franklin
DC Comics: Bombshells (Volume 1) Enlisted Marguerite Bennett
Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata (translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori)

Apple and Knife Intan Paramaditha
The Woman Who Breathed Two Worlds Selina Siak Chin Yoke
Critically Sovereign: Indigenous Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies Joanne Barker
Making Space for Indigenous Feminism Joyce Green
Keetsahnak: Our Missing and Murdered Indigenous Sisters

Kim Anderson, Maria Campbell, and Christi Belcourt

Indigenous Women and Violence: Feminist Activist Research in Heightened States of Injustice

Lynn Stephen and Shannon Speed

Living on the Land: Indigenous Women's Understanding of Place

Nathalie Kermoal, Isabel Altamirano-Jiménez, Nathalie, Kahente Horn-Miller

Violence Against Indigenous Women: Literature, Activism, Resistance Allison Hargreaves
Highway of Tears: A True Story of Racism, Indifference, and the Pursuit of Justice for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Jessica McDiarmid
Invisible Victims: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Katherine McCarthy
Deer Woman: An Anthology

Elizabeth LaPensée, Weshoyot Alvitre, Patty Stonefish

Crime and Social Justice in Indian Country

Marianne Nielsen and Karen Jarratt-Snider

Queer Indigenous Studies: Critical Interventions in Theory, Politics, and Literature

Qwo-Li Driskill, Daniel Heath Justice, Deborah Miranda

From a Native Daughter: Colonialism and Sovereignty in Hawaiʻi Haunani-Kay Trask

Women's history archival repositories

Women's History Month National Archives

https://www.archives.gov/news/topics/womens-history

Smithsonian Because Her Story archives

https://womenshistory.si.edu/herstory

ASU Library Bj Bud Memorial archives

https://exhibits.lib.asu.edu/s/BjBud/page/welcome

Smith College Sophia Smith Collection of Women's History

https://libraries.smith.edu/special-collections/about/sophia-smith-collection-womens-history

National Women's History Alliance

https://nationalwomenshistoryalliance.org/

Questions? Comments?

We want to hear from you! Whether you want to learn more about one of the topics mentioned here or have feedback for our team, please contact Myra Khan at makhan21@asu.edu.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.