America: History and Life
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.
American History in Video American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. This release now provides 3,149 titles, with videos from new partner Pennebaker-Hegedus Films, additional videos from Ken Burns and PBS and from The History Channel, and dozens more years of Universal Newsreel, equalling approximately 766 hours
Bibliography of Native North Americans
(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
(1967+) Covers Mexican-American (Chicano) topics & the Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, & Central American immigrants. Contains Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains thousands of entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
(1910+) (Full text 1998+) Covers cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, & political issues of relevant to the Black Studies discipline. Includes citations from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa & the Caribbean.
LexisNexis Congressional Includes full text
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981) retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus: The Digital Index of the 19th Century)
(1787-1906) Merges every relevant index to 19th- century newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents into a single, searchable site. Provides unprecedented access to the printed output of this extraordinary period.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990
Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890 -1982 Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.