Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

World History Databases

 
The Bibliography of British and Irish History is an authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.

 

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 

This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains thousands of entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Historical Abstracts 
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

 

(1983+) Covers basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent.

Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Produced by Cambridge University Library, records cover almost a century of publications with some as old as 1906.  Includes works written about the Middle East and the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

 

(1967+) Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide starting in 1967. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
 
A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies. 

 

JSTOR Includes full text 
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

 

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching. 

 
(1700-1995) an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting's picture
Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579

Hours and Locations